RSS

It Started With a Pile of Books

01 Sep

These are Ethan’s books.  They flowed out of his bookshelf and were breeding rapidly across the room.  The papers are his very important papers (mostly his notes from all the computer books he reads) that ‘Mummy must not touch!’  (He knows I throw out unattended paper.)

IMG_2739 (Small)

Clearly his bookshelf had become insufficient for his needs, so I convinced Hubby that it was time to make a trip to Ikea.  He shuddered at the thought.  It would be his first visit and he’s not a shopper at heart and Ikea is not for the faint-hearted.

IMG_2740 (Small)

Adding a bookshelf to a room should be a simple task, especially since we had the perfect blank wall for the new piece of furniture.   But I tend to make things hard.  (When Hubby reads this he’ll be emphatically nodding his head).

IMG_2731 (Small)

You see once I vacuumed the area where the new shelf would go, I notice the fully grown dust rabbits breeding in the cupboard nearby and decided that I had to vacuum that area too.  Sounds easy, right?  Nope!  I had to pull off the two mirrored sliding doors (which I first removed all of the sticky tape residue from) to wrestle the dressers out, which of course meant taking everything off the dressers.

IMG_2732 (Small)

There was 5 years of dust under those dressers.  Urk!!

Of course, once I vacuumed up all of the dust I felt compelled to sugar soap the walls as well.  Of course the dressers also had to be wiped clean, as did all of the do-dads that live on the dressers.

IMG_2733 (Small)

So of course I had to remove all of the hanging clothes from the cupboard.  As I was doing this I noticed that there were quite a few items that my boys had grown out of over winter so I had to sort through the clothes.  While doing this I noticed that many of the larger sizes were falling off the baby coat hangers we were still using.  So I collected up the baby hangers to give away and moved everything to grown up hangers.

See what I mean about making life hard for myself.  It’s so typical of me.  🙂

And all of this ‘Spring Cleaning’ on the last day of winter.  My friends will confirm that ‘early’ should be my middle name.

IMG_2734 (Small)

The consequence of all this cleaning was that I then had to return everything and it was almost dark by the time the bookshelf building team took over.

IMG_2742 (Small)

Having ‘assistants’ should have made things faster but…

IMG_2744 (Small)

well…

IMG_2750 (Small)

…that’s not always true.

IMG_2758 (Small)

But eventually we had a dust free room and a new bookshelf waiting to be filled.

IMG_2759 (Small)

Ah, the organised look makes my heart go pitter-patter.

IMG_2761 (Small)

The bottom shelves are for Ethan’s books.  Two shelves for his computer books and a shelf for the novels he’s working his way through (he usually puts the books he’s finished back on the family shelves).  (I purchase novels I think he’ll like and put them on his shelf for him to devour.  I’m hoping his brother likes the same books.   🙂  )

IMG_2762 (Small)

The top shelves belong to Brayden and his Lego collection…well a teeny tiny proportion of his collection.

The wicker baskets belong to both boys.  They put all of their ‘junk’ in these baskets so I don’t have to look at it.  You know the kind of stuff – padlocks, Pez dispensers, cardboard 3D glasses, broken items they couldn’t part with, odd things like an old number key pad Grandad gave them, a stash of keys to unknown things etc.  Ethan has so much ‘junk’ he had to get a second basket.  His junk includes all manner of electrical stuff.

IMG_2763 (Small)

Once I finished organising the new shelf I turned to Ethan’s old, smaller shelf but Ethan announced that he was going to organise it.  This new independent streak is a challenge for me.  But I restrained myself and hoped that he had picked up some of my organising skills.

This is the final result.   I was impressed and relieved…phew.  He created specific places for things and even corralled messy looking items in baskets.  The books he kept in his shelf are the ones that he’s currently reading.  He even went through all of his papers and sorted it into an expanding file and labelled every file.  That would have been a massive task!

IMG_2767 (Small)

This morning I looked over the finished room and was pleased.

IMG_2765 (Small)

The boys have spent a lot of time in their room today, probably because it’s so much more inviting now.

Maybe I should buy a bookshelf for my room, in the hopes that it gets a similar Spring Cleaning…and one for the laundry, the pantry, the garage…etc

🙂

IMG_2766 (Small)

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 1, 2012 in Family Life

 

7 responses to “It Started With a Pile of Books

  1. Elsa

    September 2, 2012 at 10:51 am

    Love it! and the commentary lol! Need to do the same here. If only Ikea weren’t hours away lol. Tell the boys it looks great!

     
  2. JoAnn

    September 2, 2012 at 12:30 pm

    It definitely sounds like a lot of work, but it also looks great. I like a nice, organized room too. 🙂

     
  3. lauren

    September 2, 2012 at 6:21 pm

    very impressed
    i did my draw but i might have to do my room before the boys come over.
    praying well mum is hahaha

     
  4. wdworkman

    September 3, 2012 at 4:19 am

    Looks good! You’re description of the junk baskets sounds strangely familiar. I’m glad we’re not the only ones who accumulate such things.

     
  5. Kirsji

    September 3, 2012 at 11:47 am

    As I read your post, all I could think was “If You Give a Mouse a Cookie” 🙂
    I find myself doing the same thing … I just need to do this ONE little thing, but it turns into a two day event. LOL!

    Awesome job! I love clean, organised rooms, too!

     
  6. Kelly

    October 1, 2012 at 11:21 pm

    Have you ever read the “If you give a mouse a cookie” books? This is what I was thinking. I Krisji said the same thing! hahaa I love to clean!

     
    • Tracey

      October 1, 2012 at 11:32 pm

      I’ll have to track down this book. I’ve heard of it but it’s not a common title here down under.

      ….I just found a copy at our library and have put a hold on it. Sounds like this mouse and I have a lot in common.

      🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
