RSS

Refreshing the Walls

10 Oct

Remember the ‘commissioned’ artworks that grace my hall walls?

Well this week we refreshed the walls with new artworks.

IMG_3435 (Small)

Over the holidays we created these gorgeous regatta scenes and I was looking at them thinking, “Gee, they’d look really spiffy in a nice black frame”.  So off I toddled to Big W and found the perfect frames to suit them.  (A bargain at $6 for a set of two!)

IMG_3419 (Small)

I’ve been wanting to buy some frames for a while now but it took the perfect artwork to motivate me to act.

Aren’t they just stunning?!

Okay we’ll I’m a little biased

IMG_3438 (Small)

I loved the art project itself.  It took us much of the morning and there were multiple steps, but the final product says it all…worth the effort.

Let me give you a quick run through as a photo doesn’t do the project justice.

The sky is a watercolour wash and the sandy beach is acrylic sponge painting.

The sea was created from torn strips of painted blue paper with a hint of green and white (the white tops of the waves are created when you tear the painted paper…how clever are these art teachers who come up with these ideas!)

The little boats are created out of magazine pages and the torn waves are overlapped over the boats to give the illusion that they are bobbing around on the waves.

Oh and there’s a little perspective with the closer boats being larger than the boats in the distance.

Like I said, there were quite a few steps but they were simple and easy and worked together to create artworks that the children are very proud of.

IMG_3440 (Small)

And now my walls are sporting new masterpieces created by my favourite artists.  🙂

IMG_3441 (Small)

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 10, 2012 in Art and Craft

 

4 responses to “Refreshing the Walls

  1. Mandy

    October 11, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    These are lovely, and so perfect for your family home. I always find it difficult to fit in art…after seeing these we will make a bigger effort in 2013. Well done Mum and boys 🙂

     
  2. Tracey

    October 11, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    I find fitting art in has to be fairly deliberate or it gets skipped every time. I’ve done a few things this year to try and make it happen more. One term we did weekly tasks with a friend who was coming over for a play and a chat anyway so it wasn’t a whole extra thing to add to the week. I also tried (and will try again during the Christmas holidays) to plan art tasks for the holidays. Thirdly I find that if I set out everything I need for the art project way before we need it, I can’t use my usual “I can’t be bothered to organise it” excuse (Drats! Hehehe) as everything is all out and ready to go. Plus the kids see it and then I can’t back out or I’ll have traumatised children on my hands. Not fun. 🙂 Oh and so finding a task to do isn’t my obstacle I find a time to browse through a whole pile of art teacher blogs (there’s stacks of them out there) and print off the projects/ideas. I keep a whole folder of the ones we’d liked to do one day so when it’s time for art I just have to browse the folder or send the kids to select. My art cupboard is well stocked so materials and supplies isn’t an excuse I can use. 🙂 I should turn this comment into a blog post as I know art lessons can be few and far between. I’m guilty too. But at the same time there are times when learning to read and write and count are far more important than painting. 🙂

     
  3. Elsa

    October 12, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    They’re beautiful, I love them! Trick here is to also keep a full supply cupboard. Looking forward to more masterpieces. 🙂

     
  4. JoAnn

    October 13, 2012 at 10:31 am

    What a great way to display them. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
