RSS

Little Ones Won’t Remember

28 Oct

Brayden has always been involved in our homeschooling.  When Ethan was a preschooler and Brayden a toddler, Brayden was always there insisting he be included.  Because of this, I’ve mistakenly assumed that he remembers all that he’s experienced, when in fact he doesn’t.

The other day I made a comment about the book “Ticki Ticki Tembo” and Brayden had no idea what book I was talking about.  We read that book so many times when the boys were smaller.  Who wouldn’t remember the little fellow in the well with the big long name?  My youngest seemingly.  When I thought about it, he would have been around 2 or 3 years old when he listened to that story.

Then I discovered that he did not remember ever making and erupting a clay volcano, an experience every child should have because it’s so much fun.  So as part of his volcano project, he recently remade an erupting volcano, one he’ll hopefully remember.

IMG_3621 (Small)

We painted this volcano which we didn’t do last time.  Hey, I’m not taking any chances that he’ll forget this experience.

IMG_3683 (Small)

Oh and he had to write instructions for this activity as part of his volcano project.

Then he was ready for his first ‘memorable’ eruption.  He loved it of course!

IMG_3698 (Small)

He even called his brother to come and join in because fun is more fun if you share it.

IMG_3712 (Small)

A bottle and a half of vinegar and most of a box of bicarb soda later and I think this experience is one he’ll finally remember.

IMG_3725 (Small)

The lesson I learned is one I too mustn’t forget – repeat things for my youngest at an age that is appropriate for him and don’t assume he’ll remember just because he was present as a little one.

Oh and this weekend I pulled out “Ticki Ticki Tembo” and reread it to both of the boys.   It’s a great book, one I would hate for my children to miss, or think they missed.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 28, 2012 in Homeschooling Thoughts, Science

 

3 responses to “Little Ones Won’t Remember

  1. JoAnn

    October 29, 2012 at 7:11 am

    Looks like a lot of fun. I’m so glad you are able to re-do the things he has forgotten. What a blessing.

     
  2. Inger Koppenhaver

    October 29, 2012 at 4:12 pm

    My son loves the volcano experiment. And we have exploded many over the years… my littlest guy is only three so I am sure that in a few years we will again be revisiting this experiment and so many more fun things that our other kids have done. And what fun to have our older kids experience it all over again through the eyes of their younger sibling! Glad you posted this!

     
  3. Heidi Wilson

    November 1, 2012 at 10:39 pm

    Thanks for this post as well… thoughts to hold on to as I prepare preschool curriculum for next year for my barely 3yr old who must “do school” like his older brother! I will need to remember that he isn’t retaining all the things he is doing now as he tags along in the learning!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
