RSS

Hair Cuts At Home

05 Nov

Yes, that fellow in the last post has since had a hair cut. It was either that or buy him a dress.

I cut their hair myself. Not my favourite job at all, but a quick peek at hair dressing prices and I’m repeatedly convinced of the merits of cutting it at home.

I’m a newbie at the job so my hair cuts are very much trial and error. So it’s important to keep a hat close by…just in case things go wrong. Hey, do you think I’m kidding?!

I tried a basic razor cut but I really don’t want the crew cut, almost bald look. So I hit the internet looking for help – it was a desperate moment – and found the Freestyla tools. Thank goodness.

So this is what I use now with our razor.
IMG_3824 (Small)

The process is relatively easy. Not completely fool proof (perhaps my skills are more of a challenge than they anticipated) but it makes me feel like I’m doing a tolerable job. Well, no one has stopped me in the streets and asked what happened to my children’s hair, so I rate that as a successful haircut. Wouldn’t you?!

My poor youngest still fears I’m going to cut his ears off in the process though. Hey, I didn’t create this crazy fear. I won’t go into the details of that drama (but suffice it to say there was a lot of blood) but it’s the reason why I had to take on the job myself.

Oh and if you happen to pass my house on hair cutting day, if you hear screams of, “Mummy don’t hurt me” or “Mummy please stop”. I’m not torturing the kid, just cutting his hair. Trust me, it’s just as traumatic for me as it is for him…it could also explain why I leave such long periods between hair cutting sessions.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 5, 2012 in Family Life

 

8 responses to “Hair Cuts At Home

  1. Sheryll

    November 5, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    Oh my goodness, I am sold. I recently stopped cutting my husband’s and my kids hair. The kids were so wiggly that I could never get their hair straight, and it took so long to make sure it was all done right. This will help so much!!

     
    • Tracey

      November 5, 2012 at 10:55 pm

      It does make it a lot quicker. And I like that I really can’t go too wrong.

       
  2. Catherine

    November 5, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    That looks like an interesting product. I haven’t heard or seen of it here.

    I, too, do the family haircutting. I do it because it saves a heap of money, but I couldn’t do it for a profession. My hat goes off to those who don’t mind those whiskers in their clothes all day!!

     
  3. Tracey

    November 5, 2012 at 11:00 pm

    On the website they have an Australia source to purchase from.

    Oh me too. I would never cut hair for a profession. They sure earn their money…just not having mine. I need to save it for more books. Hehehe.

     
  4. JoAnn

    November 6, 2012 at 4:13 am

    My son use to be like that too, and I started cutting his and my husbands hair at home. This year, hubby changed styles that I just can’t do, so they are back at the hairdresser. I have to say, I don’t miss it at all. I never did like cutting hair. Guess that’s why I’m not a hairdresser. 🙂

     
  5. Elsa

    November 6, 2012 at 7:07 am

    I cut my kids hair also. It saves heaps of money! Just did my ds14 yesterday, with my ds5 asking when it’s his turn. I’m not very good either, couldn’t do it professionally, wouldn’t want to. I too, will look into the tools you mentioned. Thanks!

     
  6. Lauren

    November 7, 2012 at 11:16 am

    I am defiantly not letting mum cut my hair!!!! Who knows what will happen

     
  7. Jen

    November 8, 2012 at 7:47 pm

    I cut my boys (and hubbby’s) hair. I have five (and one more boy on the way) so financially it just makes more sense. I get mine done at the hairdresser but that is only once a year and I figure since I’m the only girl in the house and have saved all that money, I may as well 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
