RSS

You Don’t Need to Pay for Art Lessons

24 Jan

Homeschoolers often organise group art lessons…or hardly do art at all.

But you really don’t need to pay for art lessons…well at least not for the primary crowd.

No I’m not saying this from the point of view of someone with an artistic background.  I can’t draw to save my life and my ‘creativity’ would hardly fill a thimble.

Yet we do quite a few fairly ‘spiffy’ art lessons around here…if I must say so myself.  🙂  But none of them were my own idea.

IMG_5104 (Small)

How did people homeschool before the internet?!

You see, I steal borrow ideas from art teacher’s blogs.  These creative souls freely share their art ideas online.  In fact I know of a local homeschooling group, paying for art lessons, from a ‘qualified’ art teacher, who is just borrowing from the same sites I love.

Of course there are homeschoolers who would rather outsource these lessons because the thought of paint gives them hives and paying for lessons ensures they happen more regularly.

However, if you are looking for ways to cut costs or prefer to ‘home’school in the area of art too, you can teach art to your students with great success.

I’ve listed some of my favourite art teacher blogs before but I’ve found a new one too:

http://kids-finelines.blogspot.com.au/

My most recent art projects have come from here.

IMG_5105 (Small)

I much prefer to study art at home with my children than to pay someone else to have all the fun.

 

In groups…

the children are more distracted

there are too many students for the one teacher

there is less time to explore and dabble

and you can’t take the art materials home to experiment with the skills you’ve learned.

Oh, plus you have to pay for it and drive to it, which kills the flow of a school day.

 

I prefer to spend the same money (well actually a LOT less) on buying artist quality materials for use in our own art lessons.  Then I get to learn and play alongside my boys…kind of the purpose of homeschooling – teaching my own.

Of course outsourced lessons are always going to exist in the homeschooling community.  They have their place.  But at the same time, we have to be careful of falling into the trap of thinking that we need a ‘qualified’ teacher to do the job we really could do ourselves.

We just have to believe in ourselves, embrace a little mess, and give it a go.

 

Oh and PLEASE abandon those “children’s” art materials.  They are a very poor substitute.  Recently we converted to ‘real’ oil pastels and realised that they actually blend, which our kiddie ones never did.  Give artist quality materials a go and you’ll quickly realise what a waste of money “kiddie” art supplies are.  For that little bit extra, artist quality materials give you a whole lot more for your money.  Go on.  Give them a try.

 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 24, 2013 in Art and Craft

 

One response to “You Don’t Need to Pay for Art Lessons

  1. JoAnn

    January 26, 2013 at 7:45 am

    Sounds like a great site. I love all the homeschool help you can find on the internet nowadays. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
