RSS

Cleaned the Schoolroom

26 Jan

…But just not MY schoolroom.

Every year, well usually a couple of times a year, the family heads to Hubby’s classroom to give it a thorough cleaning.

‘What? Just like a tidy up of papers and books?’ you ask.

Well, no.  Actually, I’m talking about dusting and scrubbing, plus tidying up papers and books.  Oh and locating all of those nooks and crannies where school kids shove their unwanted pencil stubs and scrunched up papers.

IMG_1329 (Small)

I laugh when people ask, “Don’t they have cleaners for the classrooms?”

Yes, they do actually, but they only vacuum the floors once a week.  The rest of the cleaning is the teacher’s responsibility, along with preparing the curriculum, marking the papers, and meeting with needy parents at times only ever convenient to the parents and never the teacher.

So, in I go every year, bucket and cleaning materials in hand to blitz the classroom.

Aside from putting the desks in position, that classroom is ready for kids come Wednesday.  It has been scrubbed and disinfected to within an inch of its life.

My work is done

IMG_1333 (Small)

…in that classroom.

I get to work on my own classroom on Monday.  My ‘school’ doesn’t ’employ’ a cleaner either.  I really must speak to the ‘principal’ about that.  I need a union rep.

 

P.S.  My ‘principal’ read this post and said he already has a cleaner.  What does he need another one for?  🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 26, 2013 in Family Life

 

One response to “Cleaned the Schoolroom

  1. JoAnn

    January 27, 2013 at 7:27 am

    That classroom looks very clean. And I love what the ‘principal’ said. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
