RSS

Being Blown Away Today

27 Jan

We’re going through a bit of a ‘weather event’ as the news is calling it.  An ex-tropical cyclone is passing through and bringing heavy rain and gale force wind gusts, and just to make it all that more ‘exciting’, there’s the high risk of tornadoes, which are incredibly rare here.

So this has been my view today – sideways rain and swaying trees.

Although the view at present, it if wasn’t pitch black, would be way more scary.  It’s blowing an absolute gale out there.  I’ve closed the doors to make the bad sound go away.

IMG_5132 (Small)

Tomorrow, we’re supposed to be receiving some new (to us) desks, however, with this weather and expected major flooding in the wake of the ‘weather event’, the delivery is on tenterhooks.

Please bring me my desks.  My rooms are all ready for them.

Okay, well the rooms aren’t exactly ready.  But I have cleared a space in the disaster zones.

It looked like this at first.
IMG_5133 (Small)

And I made it look like this…just enough space for two desks.
IMG_5150 (Small)

But then the other side looked like this.

IMG_5149 (Small)

You see, the plan is to get the desks here, in out of the weather, then pull everything out onto the patio (on a sunny, not windy day) to give me space to arrange the desks in multiple ways, until I decide on the best way, and then put back only the items that fit nicely and wave a magic wand over the rest and make it go away.

I did a much better job in the homeschool room.

Voila!  Space awaiting giant desk.

IMG_5146 (Small)

But here’s the mess I made as a result.

Can you see why ‘not receiving’ those desk tomorrow will be a major disaster?
IMG_5148 (Small)

So, if my desks come tomorrow (pretty please weather and BIL…bring me my long awaited for desks), you’ll know exactly how I’ll be spending my day.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2013 in Family Life

 

4 responses to “Being Blown Away Today

  1. Elsa

    January 28, 2013 at 8:22 am

    Hope the weather system doesn’t end up being too bad for you. Have fun with the arranging! (when it happens!)

     
  2. Missy

    January 28, 2013 at 8:47 pm

    At least you have floor space to put those desks on should they arrive. My whole homeschool room and everything else vaguely related is now packed floor to ceiling in a bedroom. My books are stacked on a shelf soon to be directly above at least a meter of water and my lounge room and kitchen are full of furniture and there are 2 kids on my bedroom floor. I’d take your mess today with pleasure!
    Hope to see your house back in order asap – I shall live vicariously through your first week of homeschooling!
    Missy

     
  3. Tracey

    January 28, 2013 at 9:06 pm

    Oh you poor thing Missy. I was thinking of you today as I heard flooding reports…and just after you got everything organised and all.
    Rest assured there is plenty more to do to get my house back in order. Things have just been stashed and piled for the moment so I can get my living areas back to normalish….until I get time to deal with the rest.
    Thankfully though we are at no risk of flooding. I can’t even fathom how horrible a job it would be to clean up all that mud and water.
    I’ll be thinking of you guys.

     
  4. JoAnn

    January 29, 2013 at 4:36 am

    Hope the weather works for you and that you get the house organized like you want to. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
