RSS

My New Planner

01 Feb

Isn’t it pretty?

Okay I cheated and used the same picture as last year’s, but I like that picture and I haven’t taken anything nearly as well-loved as this one.

But everything else is new.

Okay, well it’s the same format I’ve been using for years now but I did tweak it a little to incorporate some growth in my planning habits.

IMG_5261 (Small)

You see I’ve discovered the joy, yes joy, of in depth planning for the coming term.  I used to scoff at those people who planned their terms (worst still years) down to minute details.  But I’ve become one of them.  Okay, well I’m only at the term planning stage so far.

At the end of last year I looked in horror at what I had left to achieve in the final term of the year.  We keep a swift pace all year long, working these boys hard and exercising their brains.  Nope, no unschoolers here.  But we had delighted a little too much during the year and had taken just a few too many scenic detours and were way off course for finishing anywhere near where I had wanted.  So I took action.  I made a list of what needed to be accomplished in that one term, divided it up among the number of weeks we had left, added in plenty of enrichment because I just can’t help myself and made detailed plans for each week of that term.  And you know what?  It turned out to be one of our best school terms ever.  We did a lot more fun stuff, because I never felt behind, and we covered a lot more ground, in more depth, all because I had planned it out beforehand.

So now I’m a convert.  No more, ‘winging it’ during the term.  Yes I’ve always planned the coming week on the weekends but it’s easy to get lazy and let things slide until the following week if there’s nothing planned for the week to come.   From now on I plan to plan, my whole term in detail.

IMG_5263 (Small)

Having said this, all I’ve planned so far is one week of work.  Hmmm…I anticipate a busy weekend ahead.

…Two days to go until homeschool is back in session for my little men

 

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 1, 2013 in Planning and Registration

 

2 responses to “My New Planner

  1. JoAnn

    February 2, 2013 at 12:04 pm

    Its so great to find out what works for us as homeschooling families. So glad you found what works for you. 🙂

     
  2. Missy

    February 2, 2013 at 8:09 pm

    Are you going to show us the inside? Please do…

     

Leave a Reply

 
