RSS

Being By Yourself is Dangerous

08 Feb

This post was supposed to be about the delightful hour and a half I got to spend by myself this afternoon.

But now it’s not!

It’s now about why a person should just stay home.

Okay, so here’s the scene.

I dropped my little men with my big man and they went off to enjoy an afternoon at Wet n Wild.

I proceeded to the library to collect the books I forgot yesterday.

On the way my car has a stroke or something similar.  The thermostat do-dad kept going up and giving me heart failure, and then going down and giving me false hope.

I made it to the library and spent some time wandering around hoping a little rest would help my ailing vehicle.

Then I limped home as the gauge was only going up at slower speeds up hills and my place is home via the highway.

On the four lane highway my car was very well behaved and I breathed a sigh of relief…

Moments later a vehicle from the fourth lane, carrying a load of stuff, lost part of that load.

From ahead of me, to my right, I saw a massive metal basketball backboard, hoop and pole bouncing across the highway towards me.

Thankfully my brakes worked just fine and that defensive driving course hubby made me take came in handy.

Myself and the car in front of me had no time for a complete stop and had to swerve sharply onto the shoulder of the highway to avoid the now stopped obstacle.

So then we had a car having a stroke and a driver whose heart nearly stopped and some poor guy who must have had a devil of a time crossing the highway on foot to clear that thing off the road.

Clearly I should have stayed home with my children this afternoon.

Remind me next time I have such a ‘brilliant’ idea.

Yes, everyone made it home safely, but my car is still sick. I’m taking it to the doctors next week.  I hope it’s just a simple cheap-to-fix bug.

Cars!  Grrrrr!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 8, 2013 in Family Life

 

2 responses to “Being By Yourself is Dangerous

  1. Elsa

    February 9, 2013 at 1:02 pm

    Oh gosh Tracey! Glad you (and the other drivers) were all okay. I know what you mean about cars though. We finally have ours back after a slight hiccup and the power steering going, on a little trip in to get school supplies! Grrrr… is right. Good luck at the drs! Hope the cost isn’t too outrageous.

     
  2. JoAnn

    February 10, 2013 at 8:08 am

    So glad you are ok. Sounds like such a scary time. Hope your car fix is cheap.

     

Leave a Reply

 
