RSS

Science Lesson of the Day – Babies

15 Mar

 

 

Today we went to welcome my niece into the world.

That counts as Science for the day, don’t you reckon?

Isn’t she a darling?

IMG_5857 (Small)

She arrived safely this morning, weighing two pounds less than expected (8lb1oz), although her Mummy ended up with more than she bargained for.

It’s true that those epidurals don’t always worked in caesarean sections.  I thought that was just horror stories they put on tv.  Nope, seems not.  I can’t even imagine.  My sister says it’s worse than you can imagine.  I’m sure it was.

IMG_5778 (Small)

Little Aria was oblivious to all the dramas though.

And before the end of the day she had acquired her first piece of jewellery.  I suspect she’ll have her first handbag and pair of shoes before the end of the week too.

Me, I bought her her first books

(who needs jewellery and shoes!)

One of the books was her first Bible of course.

IMG_5834 (Small)

Couldn’t you just eat her up!

I’m still waiting on my cuddles though.  Hospital policy is not to allow anyone, but the parents, to hold the baby on the first day.

Policy-Smolicy!  An Aunty should get to cuddle her niece, especially the Aunty who hosted a baby shower that shot her to the head of the cuddle queue.

Oh well, I’ll just have to go back….many times to make up for it.

IMG_5818 (Small)

Oh and the boys were quite smitten with their new cousin.  Prior to today, they didn’t think they’d like such a noisy, smelly little creature but I noticed they were right there peering in at little Aria with the rest of us…and later helping pick out pink things to give her as gifts.

They better not think they are jumping the cuddle queue though!!

🙂

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 15, 2013 in Family Events

 

3 responses to “Science Lesson of the Day – Babies

  1. Heidi Wilson

    March 15, 2013 at 1:00 pm

    Congratulations Auntie Tracey! She is beautiful!! What books did you give her? Strange policy… hospitals here leave it up to the parents who cuddles the baby… but it kind of makes sense! Can’t wait to hear more about her in our emails!! 🙂

     
  2. Tracey

    March 16, 2013 at 12:59 am

    I got Aria her first Bible – My Look and Point Bible (perfect for toddlers) or advanced newborns like Aria
    I got her a lift the flap prayer book – My Lift the Flap First Prayers – a board book with lots of lift the flaps that are nice and sturdy and unable to be pulled off
    And two little board books from the “My Baby Is” series – specifically “My Baby is Safe” and “My Baby is God’s”. Really sweet little books that speak truth to children.
    This adds to her collection from Aunty Tracey as she got some for last Christmas too. A newborn can never have too many books.
    I had to help her Mummy erect bookshelves at the end of last year as Aunty Tracey has made sure that their house is overflowing with books too. 🙂

     
  3. Elsa

    March 16, 2013 at 8:35 am

    She’s adorable! You and your family will have a lot of fun with her, and yes…to the science question. 🙂 Congratulations!

     

Leave a Reply

 
