RSS

Does Fear Make Your Decisions?

26 Mar

I’ve been pondering this a lot lately-

(Yes, there’s been a lot of brain strain happening in my library.)

“Does fear make our decisions?”

As I listen to those around me

(cause other people’s problems are always easier to solve…have you noticed that?)

I’ve noticed this common theme –

Fear.

“We’re looking into enrolling Junior into school for his senior year…so he can get into University”

“Did you hear on the news about the terrible flu strain headed here this winter?  We have to rush in and get our flu needle?”

“Oh I could never homeschool.  I wouldn’t know where to start.”

All fear based decisions.

Yet God tells us,

“Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”  (Jn 14:27)

“For God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.”  (2 Tim 1:7)

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”  (Joshua 1:9)

Why then are our decisions based on fear…fear of the unknown, fear of lack of control, fear of the big ‘what if’.

What’s the alternative?

Some people think ‘courage”

But clearly relying on ourselves is what already terrifies us.

“I can’t possibly do that”

“I will have to do this”

“I don’t have a choice”

So true.  We can’t…

and I think that’s why we fear.

We forget that the opposite of fear, is not courage from within ourselves, but faith in one greater than ourselves.

We forget to have faith!

Do you remember what Jesus said to his apostles in the boat during the storm?

“Why are you so fearful? How is it that you have no faith?” (Mark 4:40)

When we fear, we do not have faith.

 Junior doesn’t HAVE to go to high school (or enrol in Distance Education programs) to get into University. 

Yes the alternate paths are less traveled.

But God will make a way.

The flu needle may or may not prevent you from getting influenza but WORRYING about catching it can contribute to lowering your immunity, putting you at unnecessary risk.

Leave it in God’s hands.

Everyone CAN homeschool.  There are no rules or perfect standards.  Besides, failure is not the end, but the beginning of the learning process. 

Let God guide your steps forward.

Because…

Fear is a terrible decision maker

and will lead you astray.

Instead, remember what God told us,

“Fear not, for I am with you;  be not dismayed, for I am your God;  I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” (Isaiah 41:10)

Have faith.

Let it be your decision maker.

And beware the pitfalls of fear.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 26, 2013 in Bible and Faith, Homeschooling Thoughts

 

2 responses to “Does Fear Make Your Decisions?

  1. Olivia

    March 26, 2013 at 10:19 pm

    Amen

     
  2. Jen in NSW

    March 27, 2013 at 12:38 am

    I am big on telling my boys to not let emotions rule their lives. Fear can freeze your brain cells IME. Any time we have had a scary situation (usually a loss of income, or a move) I have found it better to do my research, make plans, make contingency plans and then pray and put my faith in Him that He will handle what I have missed. Things have always worked out, and twice that has been at the very last moment. But I couldn’t have foreseen the solutions, only He could.

    Totally agree with you.

    Best wishes
    Jen in NSW

     

Leave a Reply

 
