RSS

The Best Part of Our Day

27 May

Reading Aloud!

It is by far the most valuable and favourite part of our day.

I collect our current pile of novels and non-fiction titles on my lap, and settle into my reading lounge for about an hour and a half to two hours (on a relaxed day).  Then I begin.

My boys settle themselves wherever they wish.  My only stipulations are that they are not to move around too much (as I find it too distracting), remain relatively quiet and only occupy their hands in ways that allow them to continue concentrating fully on the story.  Occasionally I quiz them to check.  Rarely do they miss a beat though.

I’ve discovered that kids who have been read to a lot, since they were little, have a really impressive comprehension and recall of stories…well at least my two do.  They put my skills to shame!

So if you wanted to do one thing that would have the most impact on your children’s education – read to them a lot every day.  Build up slowly until you can maintain longer periods. Over time you’ll get over any insecurities you may have about your reading aloud skills.  Hey, it’s good for the kids to see that even Mummies stumble when they read and occasionally have to put their sounding out skills to the test.

And ditch the junkie titles society thinks kids want to read.  Or better still, read one aloud and see just how bad they really are.  A real book will have everyone on the edge of their chair (or rolled up in their blankets on the floor) and a junkie title will bore everyone to death and have the kids begging to do Math or copywork instead.  Hmmm…I might need to keep a junkie title on standby as a threat if the kids don’t hustle to their Math and copywork lessons.  Finally a purpose for these horrible books.   :)- .

Well must dash.  My men are piling up the novels on the chair waiting on their read aloud time.  Everyone in our family considers it their favourite part of the day.  🙂

IMG_7160 (Small)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 27, 2013 in My Library

 

3 responses to “The Best Part of Our Day

  1. Jen C

    May 27, 2013 at 4:44 pm

    What books do you recommend? I have all boys too so they will likely suit us 😀 !!

     
    • Tracey

      May 28, 2013 at 3:30 am

      Two series that we have all loved were “The Mysterious Benedict Society” series and the “Rondo” series by Emily Rodda. Currently my men are working their way through the Roman Mysteries. My boys love just about anything we read to them. The only dud we ever struck was a book that sounded intriguing from the blurb but was just dark and nasty on the inside – 100 Cupboards. None of us liked it. I should have know that Kmart wouldn’t have stocked something that was actually good. I’ve learned my lesson.

       
  2. Elsa

    May 28, 2013 at 11:37 pm

    Yes, yes and yes. I definitely agree. There is also something wonderful about coming to the end of a chapter and having the kids beg for ‘just one more… pleeeeeease!’ Love it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
