RSS

The Wretched Stone

05 Nov

Recently I’ve been reading everything I can get my hands on by Rafe Esquith.  Youtube videos included.  He’s a wonderfully inspiring teacher.  Anyway, he mentioned this title in one of his books and it piqued my interest so I hunted down a copy and I’m very glad I did.

Over the weekend I sat down with my boys and read it to them.  Their first question, as always, was “What’s it about?”  But I wanted to leave them hanging on this one, so I told them to wait and see.

IMG_4068 (Small)

The story is set on a sailing ship that has a most refreshing crew.  They like to read, play music and tell stories when they are not working hard at their posts.

IMG_4069 (Small)

But all that changes when they find the “Wretched Stone”.

The men can’t tear themselves away from it.  They just sit in front of it mesmerized.

Ever heard of such behaviour?  Quite terrifying isn’t it.

Of course at this point my little men cottoned on to what the book was about.

IMG_4070 (Small)

Most of us have a “Wretched Stone” at our place.

They vary a little nowadays, from the traditional type stones up against the wall (or many walls according to the scale of the problem), to the desktop stones and the iStones.

But the affect is the same no matter the type.

‘The wretched stone turned the whole crew into hairy beasts, that just sat there grinning at that terrible rock.’

Have you seen these same symptoms in your crew?

Rest assured, there is hope…if you act swiftly and uncompromisingly.

IMG_4071 (Small)

Such a great little book with a worthy message.

I’m very grateful to Rafe Esquith for the recommendation.  I may never have heard of this title or simply passed it by without this nudge.

So consider this nudge passed on….

“Protect your crew from Wretched Stones”

🙂

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 5, 2013 in My Library

 

5 responses to “The Wretched Stone

  1. Ilovechocolate

    November 5, 2013 at 5:03 am

    Tracey, would you mind writing a review of Rafe Esquith and summarise his main points that are useful to homeschoolers? Thanks 🙂

     
  2. Jane Newman

    November 5, 2013 at 5:53 am

    Thanks Tracey – very useful as always! Love your posts

     
  3. Jen in NSW

    November 11, 2013 at 6:12 am

    And which book of his would you suggest reading first? He sounds interesting.

    Thanks
    Jen in NSW

     
  4. Tracey

    November 11, 2013 at 7:29 am

    I haven’t read any others….or do you mean Rafe Esquith’s books. Hmmmm…they are all good. I’d suggest watching some of the youtube videos about him first. They give you a really good overview of his classroom and views and then any of the books are a great choice. I don’t think I’ve loved any one book more than the others. They are all good.

     
  5. Jean

    November 23, 2013 at 4:53 pm

    I love Chris Van Allsburg, and he did a wonderful job on this book and many others. I discovered him in my own childhood and have my favorite books for my own kids. It’s really too bad that his ideas weren’t interpreted into film better than they were. The Jumanji production is a joke, and the Polar Express was beautiful but soulless. “The Wretched Stone” was the very first book of his I was introduced to, by Miss Fiddler the Librarian, and now it will be a part of our homeschool journey.

     

Leave a Reply

 
