RSS

A New Year Deserves Another Bookshelf

03 Jan

As the New Year rolls in, thoughts of the new school year dawn with it.

Yes, downunder in Australia, the school year starts at the end of January, although for homeschoolers it can start whenever Mum says.  🙂

Rest assured little men, Mummy isn’t quite ready yet.

Before we can start school, there’s a lot of tidying, planning and report writing to do.

IMG_5072 (Medium)

Today I started with tidying.

We’re relocating one of our desktop computers to my desk to make room for a new one in the study.

I wasn’t keen on this idea at first – not needing extra stuff cluttering up my already cluttered desk.

But then I had a bright idea.

I could move all the stuff off my desk and onto a nice new bookshelf!!

I liked this idea.

After a failed trip to Ikea earlier this week  (cars where banked back out of the carpark so we retreated), we finally bought our new shelf yesterday evening (the ideal time to visit Ikea!) and began building and rearranging today.

I relocated existing shelving while hubby wrestled with his flat pack.

IMG_5088 (Small)

While I waited for my shelf to be ready, I even tidied the cupboards.

I know, I know.  You want to sticky beak inside.

This cupboard contains our percussion instruments, various letter/number bricks, our MAB sets, pattern blocks, peg boards, play money, magnetic letters and an electronics kit.

IMG_5090 (Small)

This cupboard contains our hands on supplies.  In the dishes are various supplies, cards and games.  For example, in our ‘spatial concepts’ dish you’ll find tangrams, pentominoes, shape stencils, 2D and 3D shape flashcards, magnetic pattern blocks, several set square sets, drawing compasses, geoboards, and various homemade games (bingo, dominoes etc).  In our fractions dish I have plastic fraction circles and squares, fraction dice, and fraction games (purchased and homemade).

IMG_5091 (Small)

In the cupboard that was relocated, we keep our educational games, puzzles and models.  A lot of these are too young for the boys now but we’ll hold onto them until my niece is old enough to use them.

IMG_5092 (Small)

Sadly the bookshelf was ready two cupboards short of completion.  (I’ll get back to them another day.)

Yes I know the brown shelf doesn’t exactly match my white cupboards but Ikea’s ‘white’ was not white and I thought that would look worse.  Plus some day we may use this shelf alongside our other brown shelves.  So brown got the family vote.

The biggest task of my day today was sorting through all of our school stuff and relocating everything.  School work from last year was archived.  Books that had sat on my desk all year were sent packing.  And schoolbooks were arranged on the new shelf according to use – read alouds, textbooks, reference books…that sort of thing.

IMG_5093 (Small)

My broken wheelie drawers were retired.  Well the taller one was.  The shorter one became my extra paper drawer – exercise books, notepads, drawing journals etc….although this could be relocated to the study once I tackle that room.

IMG_5095 (Small)

Finally, after a long day of work, I had finished.

Ta da!!

IMG_5096 (Small)

A big change from my before picture.

Although, give it a month and the scenes could be matching again. 🙂

IMG_3809 (Small)

So now our school room is all ready for school.

And once again I can spread out on my desk and enjoy all that glorious space.

IMG_5100 (Small)

Although I will have to add that desktop computer next.

(That’s hubby’s school laptop you can see in the photo.  We choose to buy desktop computers as we can fix and upgrade them at home easily and much more cheaply than laptops).

IMG_5102 (Small)

Little men, perhaps we’ll start school earlier than planned.

The schoolroom is calling to me, begging me to use it.

IMG_5104 (Small)

What better way to start a New Year!

IMG_5079 (Medium)

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 3, 2014 in Resources and Organising

 

5 responses to “A New Year Deserves Another Bookshelf

  1. Esther

    January 4, 2014 at 6:18 pm

    HOORAY! I LOOOOVE SHELVES! 🙂

     
  2. Amy

    January 4, 2014 at 9:12 pm

    Lovely.
    We celebrated the new year with new book shelves too. 🙂

     
  3. Jen in NSW

    January 4, 2014 at 11:18 pm

    My dream for our next house is more wall space for more shelves. We have had to close off a doorway in this house so I could line the end with 3 bookshelves. Great for winter, keeps the heat in. Not so great in summer, keeps the heat in. Good luck for the new year.

     
  4. Mandy

    January 5, 2014 at 4:06 am

    Thanks for sharing 🙂 I am doing the same thing here, archiving, tidying and making room for that shelf I got on special! It is lovely to see what others are doing, to gather ideas and know that it is not only me that can’t wait to get back into school. 🙂

     
  5. Jen C

    January 9, 2014 at 4:27 pm

    We have gone back this week due to a lot of time off while moving and house hunting. And we are getting a big ikea expedit bookcase soon! I’m so excited!!
    Good to see you back again! 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
