RSS

Almost Ready to Start the School Year

24 Jan

Just a few more days now until a new school year starts.  Yes, I know the eager beavers have already started back, but I’m holding out until the school kids start.  It wouldn’t be fair to get too much of a head start on them.  I know my kids would agree and I’m all for more holidays.

IMG_5221 (Small)

I haven’t been very faithful to my blog over these past holidays.  No dramas or anything, I just haven’t had anything to say.  Writer’s block shall we call it.  But if you have questions please ask.  I need the nudge.  🙂

Anyway, I think I’m all ready for the school year.  I’ve got all of our books on the new shelf waiting for us.

IMG_5229 (Small)

An official plan for the year ahead has been written and submitted, but it’ll probably be Easter before I hear from the powers that be about whether it has been approved or not.  Ridiculous.  I know.  But moving on…

IMG_5235 (Small)

I’ve put all of my “to-do”s on scraps of paper so it’s not rattling around in my head.

IMG_5233 (Small)

Okay, so there are plans to put those “to-do”s somewhere move organised.  I just have to finish fighting with my printer, who clearly demands more holiday time.  Hopefully by the end of the day, my planner for the year will be complete.

IMG_5230 (Small)

First, however, I’ll have to schedule in a date with my comb binder.  There’s a collection of things waiting in my binding queue, before I can bind my planner and get my thoughts properly organised for the term ahead.

IMG_5231 (Small)

Oh yes, lots to do.  But first I think I might just curl up with a good book.  Hey, there’s a whole four days left before we start.  Plenty of time.  Might even kick back with a cuppa and a piece of chocolate.

🙂

IMG_5275 (Small)

 

8 responses to “Almost Ready to Start the School Year

  1. sarah

    January 24, 2014 at 3:12 am

    I have a question and 2 suggestions for topics: How did you get hold of the book: The Question? CC wanted to charge me some ridiculous price to ship it to Oz. And my suggestions are that you write a post about Ralf Esqueith (sp) and his teaching philosophy, and also a summary of the book The Question…… That should keep you busy 🙂

     
  2. Tracey

    January 24, 2014 at 3:45 am

    I paid the $23.95 for shipping. I waited and waited for it to be stocked elsewhere but my patience ran out so I just coughed up the money. The book has been worth it so far.

    Hmmm…a Rafe post. I like the idea. I think I’ll do that. And a Question one too. I can do that as well. Gotta finish the book first though. I’ll need more chocolate and tea now. The book is no longer a guilty pleasure but an assignment so I have permission to set aside boring things like ironing and binding school stuff etc. Hehehe.

     
  3. Shelley

    January 24, 2014 at 4:39 am

    Hi Tracey – glad to see your blogs again – always appreciated. Can I ask, what resources have you used or could suggest for teaching poetry. Thanks & Best Wishes for a great year 🙂

     
  4. Tracey

    January 24, 2014 at 5:29 am

    We haven’t done a huge amount of poetry. The most we’ve done is memorise poems and read some. This year we are going to read poetry each day and discuss it. At least that’s the plan. Every so often we’ve dabbled with writing a poem but I was definitely winging it. Poetry is something I can not write myself. I always hated it at school when a teacher set a poem to be written. Gives me chills just now thinking about it. I did think about buying the Michael Clay Thompson’s “Music Hemisperes” but it hasn’t got past a thought. I have two lovely books of poetry that we used for poems to memorise. Both were from Rod and Staff (well I bought them from LEM). The first is “Poems for Memorisation” and the other is “Echoes From My Heart”. I’ll do a little post on the “Poems for Memorisation” book as it’s such a treasure for a Christian homeschooler. I’ll try and get to it today.

     
  5. Petra

    January 24, 2014 at 7:09 am

    Well as you know I’m all for a cuppa and chocolate, but where’s the Mills and Boon? 🙂

     
    • Tracey

      January 24, 2014 at 7:50 am

      Oh you and your Mills and Boon. 🙂 Where’s the blushing emoticon when you need it!

       
  6. Shelley

    January 24, 2014 at 7:19 am

    Thanks Tracey – just saw the post. We have a number of lovely poetry books that we have memorised poems from. I was just wondering if there was a resource that might have some guidance for writing poetry that I might be able to use as a reference, but I think I will find something in my local library that would suffice as an overview and I could go from there. Thanks for getting back to me 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
