RSS

My New Favourite Quote!

25 Apr

I was watching “A Tour of Wes Callihan’s Personal Library”

(Something I’ll admit I was just watching as I was impressed with this man’s gorgeous looking library and obvious love of books)

when I heard him say these words

(and I’ve listened to them multiple times now!):

“You should always have more books in your library than you have read.  You should never have read all of your books.  If you have read them all, you’re not buying fast enough.  To have books on your shelves that you haven’t read is to have potential.  It is to know you haven’t learned it all.  It’s to still be able to wonder, to say, ‘No, I haven’t read everything.’  If you have read all the books in your library, you are in danger of thinking that you know everything.  So buy books!  

(starts at 18 mins 43 secs into the video)

This is a brilliant man!

I’m sure he said a lot of other learned things in his video, but I heard the message he had for me –

BUY BOOKS.

Hubby is looking panicked.

But I don’t have time to worry about that.

I have to

BUY BOOKS FASTER!!

Wes Callihan said so!

Hehehe.

🙂

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2014 in My Library

 

5 responses to “My New Favourite Quote!

  1. Petra

    April 25, 2014 at 4:41 am

    Of course being me, I could always convert this to “…you should always have more bags in your cupboard than you could use…if you have used them all, you are not buying them fast enough…” 🙂

     
    • Tracey

      April 25, 2014 at 5:17 am

      Shaking my head Petra. I’ll convert you one day.

       
  2. Elsa

    April 26, 2014 at 1:59 am

    Love, love, love this quote. You go girl! 😀

     
  3. Daniel Foucachon

    May 1, 2014 at 11:20 pm

    I need a bookshelf building hobby to go along with my love of books! 🙂

     
    • Tracey

      May 2, 2014 at 10:54 am

      Now that is a brilliant idea. Classical Educators need to add carpentry to their day! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
