RSS

“It Could Always Be Worse”

02 Jun

We discovered a wonderful book last week.  It’s called, “It Could Always Be Worse” by Margot Zemach.

I selected the title to use as part of our “Teaching the Classics” approach to literature.  (If I haven’t before mentioned how much I love “Teaching the Classics”, then let me say it now, “We love it!!”)

The story is a Yiddish folktale, which you can identify from the delightful illustrations, and shares a wise truth.

IMG_6740 (Small)

The father of a rather large family despairs over their particularly cramped living situation.

They are poor and live in a simple one-roomed hut.

Consequently, things are tense…as you can imagine.

IMG_6741 (Small)

So the father takes his problem to the Rabbi, seeking wisdom.

And that’s exactly what he gets, although at first it looks like anything other!

IMG_6742 (Small)

I’m not going to tell you anything more, as I don’t want to spoil the story for you.  Plus, now that I’ve left you hanging, you’ll have to seek out the book for yourself.

Nope, there’s no commissions for me.  Just the joy in sharing a great book with more families.

And this book is a keeper!!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2014 in My Library

 

3 responses to ““It Could Always Be Worse”

  1. Elsa

    June 2, 2014 at 7:53 am

    Oh darn. You had me hooked. 😀

     
    • Tracey

      June 2, 2014 at 8:15 am

      …and it’s good too. 🙂

       
  2. Shelley

    June 2, 2014 at 9:00 am

    We had that story in one of my sons A Beka readers – it is a great story 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
