RSS

Reacting to Old Things…Not That Old!!

03 Jun

Over the weekend I stumbled on some rather cute little videos that we watched as a family.

If you want to feel old, have a look at this:

We pulled out our old walkman for our children and they thought it was hilarious.

“How do you carry it around?!”

“It doesn’t fit in your pocket”

So we showed them how to clip it onto their pants.

They thought it was ridiculous and cumbersome.

How old do you feel.

πŸ™‚

IMG_6745 (Small)

We also watched the video on old computers.

My family had a computer like this, only ours had a cassette drive.

I was in university when our family got a ‘real’ computer – one with Windows.

I was engaged before our family had Internet and I remember that first night when we all sat around the modem listening to the dial up tone for hours, waiting to connect.

Yep, the verdicts out – I’m old.

The other video we watched was the rotary phone.

I didn’t know it had such a specific name – rotary phone.

We just called it a phone.

Watching the kids try to dial a number really does make it look cumbersome.

No wonder our pace of life was slower back then.

Well, now that I’ve made everyone feel old, my job is done and I can get back to my knitting and game of bingo.

πŸ™‚

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 3, 2014 in Bits and Pieces, Technology

 

One response to “Reacting to Old Things…Not That Old!!

  1. Elsa

    June 4, 2014 at 12:54 am

    Yup! Feeling old. I remember having to explain a typewriter, a phone “attached” to the wall, and telling my ds15 (computer guy), that we didn’t have e-mail when he was born. πŸ˜€ On the other hand, my dd13 asked me to buy crochet hooks the other day. πŸ˜‰

     

Leave a Reply

 
