RSS

My Shameful Secret

05 Jul

Do you want to know what it is?

Okay, here goes…

I do not like the Narnia books!

Now the secret is out.

IMG_6787 (Small)

I’d tried to read the first book, “The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe”, a number of times and couldn’t finish it.  It just didn’t appeal to me at all.

Fantasy is pretty close to the bottom of my preferred genre list.  With survival, adventure and dystopia nearing the top.  As soon as an animal starts talking in a book, I can’t help but tune out.

IMG_6790 (Small)

But then I had a revelation, helped by the CIRCE audio called “Eustace Had Read None of the Right Books“.

One doesn’t need to ‘like’ the book to read the book, and some books simply must be read, unless you want to confine yourself to Eustace’s world.

“Most of us know what we should expect to find in a dragon’s lair, but, as I said before, Eustace had read only the wrong books. They had a lot to say about exports and imports and governments and drains, but they were weak on dragons.”  (The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, ch 6)

So I determined to read the Narnia books!

Well actually, we first listened to the audio stories in the car (the boys liked them), then we watched the dvds as a family, and currently I’m making myself read each book as well (I’m 3/7th of the way finished).

IMG_6789 (Small)

And no, reading them hasn’t improved my affection for the series or the genre

But I haven’t minded digging into the books looking for the wisdom that CS Lewis has left within the pages.

And should a dragon ever peer out of a cave, I shall recognise it at once because I will have read some of the right books.

🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 5, 2014 in My Library

 

Leave a Reply

 
