RSS

Antarctic Treasures

12 Jul

I’m currently packing away some of the books we used for our Antarctica tangent we found ourselves on last term.  But when I picked up “Ice, Wind, Rock” by Peter Gouldthorpe, I felt I had to share it with you guys first.

This book was a marvelous find.

IMG_6964 (Small)

It shares the story of Douglas Mawson’s ill-fated expedition to Antarctica.  I struggled to find a children’s book that told his story so I was very excited to find that the sole book I found was a real gem.

IMG_6966 (Small)

The illustrations are gorgeous and the text is exactly what I expect of a non-fiction children’s books – detailed, accurate, and no hint of dumbing down the content.  An adult could read this book and learn all they needed to know about the expedition.  That’s the kind of children’s book I love!

IMG_6965 (Small)

Peter Gouldthorpe also has another brilliant book on an Antarctic hero.  “No Return” retells the tragic story of Captain Scott’s race to the South Pole.  It’s of the same caliber as “Ice, Wind, Rock”.

We borrowed “No Return” from our local library but, sadly, we had to return it after two weeks.  Now it’s taking all my restraint (and I’m not sure there’s enough) not to buy a copy of this book for my own shelves.  If I ever uncover a copy at a local bookstore, it may find it’s way home with me.  These books are too beautiful not to own.

No return

So if you are planning an Antarctic expedition, these are two books I’d highly recommend.

🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 12, 2014 in History, My Library, Science

 

Leave a Reply

 
