RSS

Your Library Can Be Your Friend

19 Jul

You probably already know that I’m a big book buyer.  I can’t help myself, nor do I wish too.  But did you know that I’m also a  regular book borrower?

We have a pretty good library system in our city and, for the past thirteen years, we’ve been weekly visitors, without fail.  Okay, so our library rarely has the quality books I seek out as the core of our studies, but, in its defense, it has plenty of other books and resources that can act as enrichment.

IMG_7555 (Small)

We’ve made visiting the library a regular routine.  There is a library branch conveniently located very close to where we do our grocery shopping, so we visit the library weekly on grocery shopping day.  Having this routine means we don’t have to remember to make time to visit the library.  It’s an expected part of the weekly routine and my boys have grown up knowing exactly when they would be next visiting the library.

Having a set day for visiting the library, avoids a lot of ‘due date’ hassles.  Since we borrow on the same day each week, our books are always due back on that same day.  On our errand day, I just check our loans on the online catalogue to see which books need to be placed in our return bag.  Since we are allowed to extend our loan period one time, I do all my extending at this time too.  I’ve made this a routine so I know that, first thing on errand day, I need to log into the library and process our returns for the day.  When it’s a habit, it’s hardly a chore.

I use the library’s online catalogue a LOT!  We are very lucky to have absolutely no fees or fines in our library system (aside from losing or damaging a book, which is almost criminal in my eyes!).  This means that we are able to place holds on all the books we wish to borrow, as well as have them moved to our preferred branch, ready for pick up, completely free of charge.  It’s such a blessing when you can walk into the library and find all of the books you wish to borrow, sitting on one shelf, just waiting for you.  It makes library borrowing a breeze and a pleasure.  Not everyone has this luxury but it pays to find out what privileges your library will extend to you.  You may find that there are exceptions for educators, and that might include homeschoolers.  It doesn’t hurt to ask.

When we are studying a topic, I jump onto the online catalogue and borrow a stack of books.  Over the years I’ve learned how to get the most out of my library searches so that I can find a treasure trove of useful resources.  When I search, I don’t just use one search word.  I try a variety of related options eg.  Antarctica, polar regions, south pole, poles, Shackleton, auroras etc.  I’ve also learned how to best use the catalogue to refine my search to the specific type of resource that I am after eg non-fiction, dvd, audio.  When I find a book on my topic, I check the links our catalogue provides, which allow me to search for related books.  Occasionally I’ll hunt for titles of specific books but I’ve found this the most disappointing way to search.

IMG_7557 (Small)

I’ve also taught my children how to search for books they are interested in.  To increase their skills, and chances of finding books they are interested in, I sit with them as they search, giving suggestions about how to best search the catalogue.  Typing in one search word often doesn’t reveal as much as your library has to offer, and usually this is how children attempt to use the catalogue.  They really do need to be mentored in this skill.

Using the online library to put books on hold isn’t as time consuming as it might sound.  I don’t have a routine for it but rather jump online as topics of interest occur to us.  It takes no longer than checking Facebook messages (if you are Facebook fan, which I’m not).  Plus, doing all the legwork online saves us a lot of time at the library.  Sometimes we like to stop and browse the aisles of the library (if we’ve arrived before the library has turned into the local after school care centre), but other times we just want to borrow our books and leave.  Doing the majority of our borrowing online, allows us the time to browse if we choose.

The library can save homeschoolers a lot of money.  We don’t have to purchase every single resource we want to use.  There are many books that we will only ever want to read once or that just aren’t special enough to earn a space on our shelves.  I’ve also used our library to preview books that I might want to purchase.   My family particularly loves borrowing documentaries (we’ve stopped watching pretty much all free-to-air tv).  We only watch documentaries once so it doesn’t make financial sense to purchase our own copies.  My eldest saves me a small fortune by borrowing computer books from the library.  These books are truly expensive and are updated so frequently that they are quickly out of date if you did choose to purchase them.  I love saving money at the library because, you see, it means that I can then spend money on the great books I can’t live without owning.

IMG_7556 (Small)

When we get our library resources home, we place them on our library shelf.  We used to have a large tub for library books, but books and dvds look so much more appealing on a shelf, if you can find the space.  Once a book has been read or a dvd watched, we return it straight to our library borrowing bag, ready to be returned.  Rarely (if ever) do we have issues with lost books.  Yes, even in this house full of books.  We’ve actually found that ‘lost’ books occur at the library’s end rather than our house.  Several times we’ve had messages from the library informing us that books we’ve borrowed haven’t been returned.  Knowing they have, I just head to the library and find the ‘lost’ book on their shelves for them (yes, every time!), and resolve the issue.  It’s a pain but I put it down to their lack of diligence the large volume of books we borrow increasing our chances of encountering a hiccup.

As homeschoolers, the library truly is our friend.  Yes, there is the potential to rack up a lot of fines if you aren’t careful (and your library yokes you with hefty charges), but where else can we go to find bags full of resources for our family, that have the potential to be free.

So grab your library bags and start filling them with gems!

IMG_7558 (Small)

Check out the ‘gem’ we found last week!

IMG_7554 (Small)

Sorry.  You’ll have to borrow it yourself to find out the answer.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 19, 2014 in My Library

 

10 responses to “Your Library Can Be Your Friend

  1. Petra

    July 19, 2014 at 8:52 am

    At the moment, it’s how to poo in Melbourne 😀

     
    • Tracey

      July 19, 2014 at 8:56 am

      You better borrow the book then Petra. 🙂

       
  2. Elsa

    July 19, 2014 at 11:15 pm

    Agree, the library is such a tremendous resource in our family as well. We have just recently moved to a location where there are now fees for borrowing books that are currently on reserve. I’m certainly not happy about that. It makes it annoying, that I now have to double-check to see if my request is available first. We are back to using a mobile library, so almost all of our borrowing comes from requests. We’ve never had to deal with fees before, so slight learning curve happening. Trick is to make sure kids check now too, when they do their requests.
    .
    We have our separate library shelf also which works well. Nice post Tracey. It’s so important to support the public library system and keep all these resources free for everyone to use.
    🙂

     
    • Tracey

      July 20, 2014 at 1:04 am

      When we moved house we were very conscious of not moving so far that we fell outside of our city’s library area. thankfully we had that choice. All around us we are enclosed by libraries that charge an arm and a leg…and I don’t have any spare limbs. I’m so spoiled here and I know it but I love it.

      How much do they charge you to reserve one book?

       
      • Elsa

        July 20, 2014 at 1:13 am

        Believe it is $1.25 per book. Only way around that is to make sure your requests are available at the time of requesting. Then it’s free. Haven’t requested yet from outside this library system, but I’m guessing it’ll be the same. I’m not used to that at all. I guess we were spoiled also. Do enjoy your system! I miss our old one. 😦

         
  3. Tracey

    July 20, 2014 at 1:19 am

    Wow. That exorbitant! I didn’t realise the fees were so high. How could it make a difference if your books were available at the time or not. It’s crazy. With our system, I could understand (but be devastated) if they started charging us to move the books from one library to another, within our library system, as it must cost them something. But it doesn’t cost them anything for the librarian to put a book on the reserved shelf, once it has been returned. Crazy.

     
  4. Elsa

    July 20, 2014 at 4:52 am

    Yup, agree. I think it’s ridiculous. We reserve a lot, or at least have in the past. It’s going to change the way we use our library system. On a good note…it was just announced that members will be able to keep dvds and cds for 3 weeks as of August 1st. Right now they can only be taken out for 1 week. Not usually a problem, as I’ll just renew on-line, but I’m used to 2 weeks or even 3 weeks. That change is for the good imho.

     
  5. N

    July 20, 2014 at 7:17 am

    Did you know that any Queenslander can now join any local Qld library for free? So for example those on the Gold Coast can join Ipswich City library, or Brisbane, or Toowoomba. Particularly handy if you live at one edge of your council area!

    Also, our local library lets us request books they don’t own for free. If another public library in Australia owns the book, they obtain it under a reciprocal borrowing system and it’s usually in my hot little hands in just a couple of weeks.

     
    • Tracey

      July 20, 2014 at 7:37 am

      That’s handy to know.

       
    • Elsa

      July 21, 2014 at 3:18 am

      We used to be able to borrow fro free from other library systems as well. Not sure why our library system charges a fee. 😦 Might politely pester them about that. 😀

       

Leave a Reply

 
