RSS

Gorgeous Piles of Books

27 Sep

There are piles and piles of glorious books sitting on my desk begging to be read.

No, there’s no detailed school plan that caused me to amass them.

They are just books that cry out to be read.

IMG_9160 (Small)

In this first pile there are:

The five books from the ‘History Lives’ series by Mindy and Brandon Withrow.

(We’ve been pondering things about the Church and its past, particularly since reading about upheavals in the past between Protestants and Catholics)

The Apprentice

(We’ve just finished reading about Michelangelo and the Renaissance and this little novel has been on my radar to read for quite a number of years.)

Fearfully and Wonderfully Made

(I often hear this book being recommended so it was high on my list to explore when we started reading about cells and genetics.  At this point, we may just read snippets but who knows…we may fall in love and find it hard to stop reading.)

The Hunchback of Notre Dame (Classic Starts – children’s abridged version)

(We’ll be reading this one very soon.  We watched a documentary about Notre Dame last night and I dropped a tantalising tidbit about the book, as the documentary led us through the bell tower of the cathedral.   I’ve hooked my ‘little fish’ and they had me hunting for books and dvds as soon as the documentary was over.  Little do they know, I’m already prepared and ready to go!)

Queen Elizabeth II

(We’ll be launching into British History this coming term, to prepare for our visit to London, so I thought a book about our Queen would be a good launching point.)

Stories from Shakespeare

(I love Geraldine McCaughrean’s books, so when I saw she had a Shakespeare book I had to own it.)

Journey to the Centre of the Earth

(Once again, we’re on a Jules Verne streak.  Last time it was “20 000 Leagues Under the Sea”, and, this time, we’re leaning towards “Journey to the Centre of the Earth.)

Mysterious Island

(Unless of course we lean towards “Mysterious Island”, in which case I’m also prepared.  We’re rather partial to the story of Atlantis so it’s actually a tough decision.  It makes sense to start at the beginning but…oh, we are so weak-willed when it comes to books!)

IMG_9163 (Small)

Our second pile contains:

The Story of Science:  Aristotle Leads the Way

(This was a book I intended to start last term but then we got side tracked with all sorts of other juicy topics – Colony Collapse Disorder in bees; and now Genetics and Evolution.  Eventually I want to get back to it, as it looks like a good read.)

Gregor Mendel:  Genetics Pioneer

(We’ve already read a little about Gregor Mendel but I thought this title would make a great reference for a report.)

* DNA Detectives

(Just a little title that caught my eye at the Australian Geographic store.)

How Did We Find Out About DNA?

(I saw these Isaac Asimov books recommended somewhere in the blogosphere and decided to give them a try, since they are perfectly suited to our current Science focus.)

How Did We Find Out About Genes?

(If these Isaac Asimov books turn out to be gems, I’ve already made a note of other titles that would interest us.  Oh and I bought them from Abebooks for a reasonable price.)

The Cartoon Guide to Genetics

(I’m not sure about this title yet.  I’m not a fan of graphic books – in fact they generally repulse me – but in the case of this nice and complex topic, I thought it might be helpful to have a simplified version.  But, if it turns out to be a dud, I’ll very quickly toss it out, rather than finish it.  There isn’t enough time in life to waste it on dud books.)

Wisdom Stories

(I picked this title up at Koorong last week.  It was lodged behind several other titles on the shelf and, when I pulled it free, we fell in love.  It looks gorgeous.  I can’t wait to start reading it aloud.)

The Genius of Ancient Man

(This was another title that came home with me from Koorong.  It’s funny how that keeps happening.  🙂  This title has been on my wishlist for a while and, since I had a coupon, I decided to purchase the store’s last copy.  I think I’ll read it to the boys, although I bought it to satisfy my own curiosity.)

Britannia:  100 Great Stories From British History

(This is a title I purchase for our British History reading this term.  I’ve already been sneaking peeks at the stories.)

IMG_9165 (Small)

And the final pile has these goodies:

Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods

(This is actually a book I bought for Hubby.  He’s the Rick Riordan fan in this house.  But he plans to read this book to the boys once they’ve finished their current read aloud series.  Oh and if you plan to purchase this book, be sure to get the hardcover book.  It’s illustrated and absolutely gorgeous.  The paperback pales in comparison.)

The Stolen Smile

(Since we’ll be seeing the Mona Lisa soonish, we’ll be reading a little about ‘her’.)

Who Stole Mona Lisa?

(I’m keen to find out more about this heist myself.  Picture books are always a great place to start, when learning something new.  They give you a nice succinct summary and enough information to determine whether and where you want to dive more deeply.)

Good Queen Bess

(Diane Stanley’s books are always a treat.  And since we’re reading about Queen Elizabeth II, I thought, ‘Why not read about Queen Elizabeth I too!”)

The Orchard Book of Greek Myths

(We’ve been on a bit of a myth spree this year – what with our Roman myths earlier this year and then our focus on Hercules for a while.  So I bought these two books with the plan to continue our myth reading.)

The Orchard Book of Greek Gods and Goddesses

(I know these two titles look very much the same, but the stories within are actually different.  Both books are gorgeous.)

The Gospel Story Bible

(This was a book recommended out in the blogosphere and since I love the book “The Jesus Storybook Bible”, I thought we’d find time to read this one as well, just in case it’s a future love.)

You Wouldn’t Want to Live Without Books

(And what better book to finish up with – “You Wouldn’t Want to Live Without Books”!  In fact, I would question whether you could ‘live’ without books.  So why did I buy this title?!  “Why not!” I say.  I can always do with more excuses reasons to buy more books.)

🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 27, 2014 in My Library

 

2 responses to “Gorgeous Piles of Books

  1. Sarah

    September 27, 2014 at 11:39 pm

    We loved Journey to the Centre of the Earth, and the 1959 version of the movie is also excellent (and funny). I can’t wait to hear what you think of The Hunchback of Notre Dame. I think we will do a French theme in January. Also, Fearfully and Wonderfully Made looks interesting.

     
  2. Sarah

    September 27, 2014 at 11:52 pm

    There’s a hilarious skit with Horrible Histories on Leonardo da Vinci. It was on youtube but it’s been taken down 😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
