RSS

Reading About Ben Carson

23 Dec

All wrapped and decorated.

All cleaned and organised.

So I’m reading.

I’ve just finished reading the kids’ edition of Ben Carson’s biography, “Gifted Hands”.  Then I read the original version as well.  I loved them both.

His mother made him read two books a week and do book reports on them.  That is a wise and wonderful woman.

IMG_1269 (Small)

Oh, if you didn’t know (I didn’t until I read these books), Dr Ben Carson is an inspiring and amazing neurosurgeon.  His life can teach us about the undervalued virtue of grit.  I’ll definitely be reading these books to my boys.

But first I shared the movie with them.  I read about the movie in the book and literally dashed out the same day to find a copy at Koorong.  It was as good as I expected.

IMG_1268 (Small)

Now I have to decide which Carson book to read next.

I have “America the Beautiful” which I borrowed from the library.

Yes I know I’m not American and I don’t even live there (but I’ve visited if that counts), but I’m betting this man has words of wisdom to share that can apply to even those outside of the states.

IMG_1271 (Small)

And I also have “Think Big”, which I purchased in hard copy and then also as an ebook (when I found out it was only $0.81 at present!)

In “Think Big”, Dr Carson explains his personal formula for success using an ascrostic

T – talents/time

H – hope/honesty

I – insight

N – nice

K – knowledge

B – books

I – in-depth learning

G – God

Sounds like a good read doesn’t it.

IMG_1270 (Small)

Hmmm…decisions, decisions.

🙂

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 23, 2014 in My Library

 

10 responses to “Reading About Ben Carson

  1. Sarah

    December 23, 2014 at 7:23 am

    Looking forward to hearing more on Ben Carson. I’m also loving this spare time to read: my current book is The Triumph of Christianity by Rodney Stark, which is great so far.

     
  2. Petra

    December 23, 2014 at 7:34 am

    I have put the DVD on my list 🙂

     
  3. homeschoolhoneymoon

    December 23, 2014 at 12:31 pm

    Dr Ben Carson is our role model too, especially for Alex who wants to be a neurosurgeon when he grows up:-) after reading the Gifted Hands, I bought a few books written by other christian doctors, you might also want to read Gray Matter (http://www.amazon.com/Gray-Matter-Neurosurgeon-Discovers-Patient-ebook/dp/B004LB4FAK/ref=sr_1_2?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1419337558&sr=1-2&keywords=gray+matter), this one talked about the profound effect on prayers.

    Do you know he is also going to run for 2016 Presidency for USA? I hope he wins. Dr. James Dobson had a few interview with him on familytalk radio program called one nation. He is a godly man and I hope we have leaders like him in Australia.

     
    • Tracey

      December 23, 2014 at 12:44 pm

      I found the book on your blog Rebecca. 🙂 I decided that if Rebecca is reading it, it must be worthy of my time too. And it was. 🙂

      Dr Carson hasn’t made a decision to run for president yet. At this point it’s just a possibly he says. I’m sure he’d make an excellent president if he did.

      I’ve loved watching his various interviews and presentations on youtube.

      I saw Gray Matter on your blog too and it’s on my read list as well. 🙂

       
      • homeschoolhoneymoon

        December 23, 2014 at 12:47 pm

        Have you got the Harbinger book? Just heard it on dr dobson’s radio show, very interesting! Just placed an order on book depository, i think this will be a treat:-)

         
      • Tracey

        December 23, 2014 at 12:53 pm

        No I haven’t read Harbinger. You’ll have to let me know what you think of it.

         
  4. Marci

    December 23, 2014 at 6:14 pm

    I love the movie Gifted Hands. I haven’t had a chance to read his books yet, but I hope to soon. And I very much hope he will run for Presidency. I think he could do a lot of good. Thanks for this post!

     
  5. Shelley

    December 23, 2014 at 8:36 pm

    Gifted Hands is on the list I have compiled for this year for the Ladies Book group at church that I organise – really looking forward to it.
    Tracey – what age is the children’s one aimed at in your opinion?

    Thanks
    Have a great day 🙂

     
    • Tracey

      December 24, 2014 at 12:42 am

      I would say upper primary on the basis of content. Dr Carson’s childhood was not ideal.

       
      • Shelley

        December 24, 2014 at 5:34 am

        Thanks Tracey 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
