RSS

A Parcel on my Doorstep

05 Jun

This week Booktopia left a box of books on my doorstep,

which is a wonderful way to start our week.

No, not out of the goodness of their hearts.

I’d followed a book link and stumbled upon a book clearance sale

and found a number of quality books quite heavily discounted.

011 (Small)

In my bundle of goodies I had:

“The Wreck of the Zanzibar”

because anything Michael Morpurgo is excellent.

012 (Small)

“Meeting Cezanne”

because, once again, it was authored by Michael Morpurgo

and because it was a children’s picture book about an artist.

015 (Small)

“The Parthenon”

because this series of books is wonderful

and we don’t already own this title in the series.

017 (Small)

“Ocean Commotion:  Caught in the Currents”

because it looked fascinating.

Have you heard about the cargo container of rubber ducks that fell off a ship into the sea and floated all over the world?!

019 (Small)

And finally two books from the same series, “Great Names”.

I bought “Socrates”

because you rarely see children’s books about him,

020 (Small)

and “Confucius”

because we are currently studying China.

022 (Small)

All of these goodies cost me less than $50

I love a book bargain.

(Don’t panic my US friends.  That’s super cheap in Australia.)

And I believe the Brisbane Lifeline Bookfest is on this week too.

Should I?

Shouldn’t I?

Hmmm….

 
21 Comments

Posted by on June 5, 2015 in My Library

 

21 responses to “A Parcel on my Doorstep

  1. Monika Durand

    June 5, 2015 at 7:37 am

    wow lucky boys, can you recommend any good books for grade 2 and prep?

     
    • Tracey

      June 5, 2015 at 7:41 am

      Gosh, there are so many good books out there. Are you looking for Fiction? Non-fiction? Picture books? Chapter books? What are their interests?

       
  2. Monika Durand

    June 5, 2015 at 8:58 am

    i’m not sure, i’m open to a nice surprise. something interesting. i like the historical books you always write about. or something about exploration, the world, different countries. what did your boys read at that age? or what did you read to them? sorry i know thats a tough one! he he he

     
    • Tracey

      June 5, 2015 at 12:02 pm

      There’s all sorts I could recommend from our past reading but these are ones that keep coming to mind that we enjoyed at around the same age, none of which were great quality literature but were much loved and still are enjoyed from time to time:
      *anything from the Usborne Young Reading series
      *any of the books in the “Good Times Travel Agency”
      *any and all of the “You Wouldn’t Want to be…” series (also called “Avoid Being… ” series)

      For Science we’ve loved all of the “Let’s Read and Find Out Science” books. (They have evolutionary content though).

      But to be honest, if I could have my time over, I would be reading more of the Yesterday’s Classics books (http://www.yesterdaysclassics.com/)
      We read some but not nearly enough and I’m only just seeing the true value of these books.

      One of the Yesterday’s Classics we thoroughly enjoyed were the ‘twins’ series – Eskimo Twins, Dutch Twins, Japanese Twins, Swiss Twins etc. There’s other too and I’m not sure all of them are on Yesterday’s Classics. Heritage History has some of them. They were great for geography.

      We’re thoroughly enjoying one of their Science books at present and have just ordered Parables of Nature which looks gorgeous as well.

      Gosh, so many books, so little time.

       
  3. Monika Durand

    June 5, 2015 at 12:06 pm

    he he he, thanks. i appreciate your recommendations, I like the sound of the twin series. i think my boys would love that. i will ordering!

    Oh by the way i booked ticket to the medieval festival you recommended, we are all really looking forward to it ! 😉 Hope you have a awesome weekend

     
    • Tracey

      June 5, 2015 at 12:14 pm

      Do you know about History Alive at Fort Lytton (Brisbane) that is happening this weekend?

       
  4. Monika Durand

    June 5, 2015 at 12:31 pm

    no i don’t. i will Google it. i absolutely in awe of you and the things that you know!!!!!!! i hope your kids know how lucky they are!

     
  5. Sarah

    June 6, 2015 at 4:53 am

    That’s an awesome collection. I just bought The Parthenon at your recommendation 🙂

     
  6. Zoe Williams

    June 6, 2015 at 10:29 am

    Snap! I had 3 of those (plus a couple of others) arrive a couple weeks ago too!!

     
    • Tracey

      June 6, 2015 at 10:51 am

      What other goodies did you snag Zoe?

       
  7. Mel

    June 7, 2015 at 8:12 am

    Gorgeous books you have there!

     
  8. monikadurand

    June 9, 2015 at 11:27 pm

    Tracy can you suggest a history topic for my 2 boys. (5-7 years) Even though we are not homeschooling yet, I wanted to spend some time developing interests with them. what did your boys find interesting at that age?

     
    • Tracey

      June 10, 2015 at 12:00 am

      I’m thinking medieval times. Little boys love castles and knights and weapons. At least mine did. Plus there’s lots of medieval picture books for this age group. And if you live in South East Queensland, there is a Medieval festival coming up in July.

       
      • monikadurand

        June 10, 2015 at 12:04 am

        yes I did book it. you told me about it a while ago and I put it in my diary. 🙂 great idea, I want to order some books from the list you recommended but there is soooo much. it might tie it in nicely for the going to the festival and reading about it before hand. Once again you are a fountain of knowledge, thanks 🙂

         
  9. Tracey

    June 10, 2015 at 12:07 am

    I’ll come back later and add a little list of younger medieval books from my shelves. Many of the ones I’ve listed recently may be hard to find. I’ve had to buy many secondhand and they haven’t been all that cheap. But I’ll pull some goodies from my shelves, that I know you can still buy online, and make a list for you.

     
  10. monikadurand

    June 10, 2015 at 12:17 am

    by the way my mother lives in the uk, you can get really cheap second hand books on amazon uk, some are 0.01p!! yes they do charge around GBP3 for postage but still that’s only $6 for a book or less. she’s happy to receive a few and post down to Australia if you’re interested 😉 check it out

     
  11. Tracey

    June 10, 2015 at 10:54 am

    I haven’t forgotten the promised list.

    These are books from my shelves that we read back in the younger years and enjoyed.

    A Medieval Feast by Aliki
    The Making of a Knight by Patrick O’Brien
    St George and the Dragon by Margaret Hodges
    Caste Diary: The Journal of Tobias Burgess, Page by Richard Platt
    Marguerite Makes a Book by Bruce Robinson
    Chanticleer and the Fox by Barbara Cooney
    Adventures in the Middle Ages by Linda Bailey
    You Wouldn’t Want to Be a Medieval Knight by Fiona Macdonald (others related titles in series)
    The Sword in the Tree by Clyde Robert Bulla (chapter book)
    The Whipping Boy by Sid Fleischman (chapter book)

     
  12. Monika Durand

    June 10, 2015 at 11:48 am

    I just ordered all of them 🙂 Cant wait!! Thanks Tracey. You know this will only mean i will keep bugging you!! ha ha ha

     
    • Tracey

      June 10, 2015 at 11:59 am

      Happy to help. Feel free to email me (via contact page) any time.

       

Leave a Reply

 
