RSS

Bookshelf Declutter and Shuffle

06 Sep

The books in my house have been out of control for some time now.

Books were overflowing right off the shelves.

Yep, I was starting to stack them on the floor.

So a few weeks ago I started a mega declutter and shuffle.

001 (Small)

I pulled everything off the shelves

one shelf at a time,

then I determined whether they were worthy of space on my shelves,

and finally I dusted them and found new spots for them.

001 (Small)

For a few weeks there were piles of books stacked

here, there and everywhere

but slowly disorder become order.

003 (Small)

After part one of the declutter and shuffle

I had a few modest stacks of books

that were heading out the door

to new homes.

004 (Small)

This weekend part two of the decultter and shuffle began.

I tackled the shelves in the study

and the multiplying piles of books

around the house.

I dusted and handled every book

and was ruthless about which books needed to leave.

After two days,

I had a healthy collection of books to part with.

I need to put a sheet over them so I can’t look at them.

The more I look at them,

the more books creep back onto the shelves.

028 (Small)

Here are the completed study shelves.

The novel shelves are still double stacked

but there is at least a little room for growth now.

Each time I declutter,

more and more books that I don’t really love leave

so that the books on my shelves become

more and more beloved.

030 (Small)

But I’m not finished with the declutter yet.

There’s a few more shelves to tackle

but I can see the light now.

But first I have to find new homes for these books.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2015 in My Library

 

3 responses to “Bookshelf Declutter and Shuffle

  1. Mel

    September 6, 2015 at 11:24 am

    I love every photo!

     
  2. monika

    September 6, 2015 at 11:34 pm

    isn’t it the hardest process? I remember taking all my books every country we immigrated to, LOL. they were globe trotting for about 12 years. its just so hard to decide what to let go. I would be interested in buying a few goodies from you. šŸ™‚

     
  3. Petra

    September 7, 2015 at 6:52 am

    I bet you loved that job – great excuse to go through your books (again) šŸ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
