RSS

This Week’s Book Haul

23 Sep

An upcoming new school term means new books…of course.

Okay, so these aren’t our main school books.

Those are already on the shelves and somewhat more gutsy.

These are just books that appealed and wanted to come and live at our house

…and how could I deny them.

🙂

“Digging a Hole to Heaven” appealed because we were reading about caves and underground locations.

We’ve also read a lot about human rights this year so a book about child labour seemed like an excellent choice.

001 (Small)

“Statue of Liberty” was purchased because the boys had been asking lots of questions about it

and I didn’t have any answers for them.

004 (Small)

“Never Fall Down” will probably be a school title.

It’s about the Cambodian Genocide

so I’m pre-reading it.


005 (Small)

“Poor Richard” will be another school book.

Not for a planned topic, but for a tangent we’ve found ourselves on.

I’m keen to find our how the title “Poor Richard” is related to Benjamin Franklin.

(I know.  I’m more than likely showing my ignorance.)


006 (Small)

“Johnny Appleseed” is a frivolous purchase.

It just looked so lovely,

smooth talking its way into my cart.

I’m justifying it by saying we could use it for a picture book literature study.


007 (Small)

And since one “Johnny Appleseed” is a good purchase

Two “Johnny Appleseed” books are clearly better.


008 (Small)

Since our tangent topic is US related,

I picked up a few US titles to add to our growing collection.

I love Jean Fritz’s stuff so I don’t care if it’s meant for a younger crowd.

I’m tempted to collect the rest of the series too.


009 (Small)

“George Washington” looked adorable

so it tagged along in my cart too.


010 (Small)

And since we just finished reading about the Declaration of Independence

we had to read about the US constitution as well.

(How’s this for embarrassing?

I didn’t realise they were separate things until I started researching books to buy.

And then I stumbled upon the Bill of Rights as well.

I’m going to have to buy a book about that as well!)


011 (Small)

“Footprints in the Ash” has been on my wishlist for FOREVER

so I simply had to move it to my cart as well.

We’ll read this aloud for school as well.


012 (Small)

“Herein is Love: Deuteronomy” is a book that completes a series I have been collecting

and reading aloud over the years.

It’s an excellent series.


013 (Small)

“Daniel Boone:  Wilderness Scout” looks fantastic.

I can’t wait to start reading it aloud to the boys.

Yep, US related once again.

I know.

We’re supposed to be studying the Middle Ages plus Asian countries.

And we are.

But you have to go where your interests take you as well.


016 (Small)

And finally, “A-Z of Convicts in Van Diemen’s Land” arrived this week.

It is absolutely wonderful!

The illustrations alone will occupy us for ages!

This is by far the best Australian History book I own.


014 (Small)

The book is massive.

In the picture below,  “Johnny Appleseed”, an A4ish sized book,

is totally dwarfed next to “A-Z of Convicts”.

It’s really going to stick out of our bookshelf

but when you see the illustrations,

you appreciate the size of the book.


015 (Small)

No, these books weren’t all purchased at the same time,

but in dribs and drabs over the last month.

They just seem to have all turned up this week.

We’re loving it!!

I wonder what the postman will bring us tomorrow.

🙂

🙂

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 23, 2015 in My Library

 

3 responses to “This Week’s Book Haul

  1. monikadurand

    September 23, 2015 at 8:54 pm

    How lovely, we did Johnny Appleseed yesterday he he he. We read the book, boys watched the cartoon and then we spent the rest of the evening doing a Johnny Appleseed / Apple lapbook. They really liked it. Of course the whole evening they walked around with pots on their heads lol.

     
  2. Sarah

    September 24, 2015 at 1:40 am

    I hope you write a review on the ones you haven’t yet read. As for US history, look up the Sesame Street skits on American History: memorable and funny to watch after more serious readings. Kermit and the Boston Tea Party was a hit here, and there’s some on George Washington. LOL

     
  3. Heidi Wilson

    September 27, 2015 at 8:45 am

    I am keen to hear your thoughts when you read the Mt St Helens book… I grew up close enough to the mountain to be somewhat affected by the eruption. I was only five but thought it had snowed as there was enough ash on our yard to make it look like it had snowed. I also have memories of my dad mowing the lawn to remove the ash whilst wearing a surgical mask!! 😉 ALL of your books look totally AWESOME and once again I find myself wishing we lived closer so I could borrow them!! 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
