RSS

A Night of Shopping

05 Mar

After our Wall Street Walk, we had to run,

quite literally,

back to our bus stop

to catch the last guided bus of the day

(completing the bus tour we started in the morning).

It was freeeeeezing

but we were kept occupied

watching the hustle and bustle on the streets.

455 (Small)

It’s like the streets are more alive at night time than in the day.

462 (Small)

People come out of their offices and fill the streets and the sidewalks.

463 (Small)

I can’t imagine trying to drive in this city.

But people seem to manage…with the aid of their horns.

I suppose they just cross their fingers, close their eyes and hope for the best.

It seems to work for them

but getting anywhere on the roads at night is ridiculously slow.

You might as well walk.

466 (Small)

Here’s a little footage of our trip through the centre of Manhattan.

Bear in mind, it was taken on a moving bus,

by a person who was freezing

(there were times when I literally could not feel my fingers!)

and being cut through by an arctic wind

(you can hear the wind on the video).

Don’t even think that we were heading back to our hotel rooms for the evening.

No, no, no.

That would be wasted time.

Instead Hubby, my brother and his girlfriend headed off to a basketball game,

while the boys and I

(who would rather watch paint dry than go to a basketball game)

hit the streets for some shopping.

Our first stop was Barnes and Noble,

just a short stroll (or excited skip) down to 5th Avenue.

471 (Small)

Would it be wrong to list a shop as one of my favourite places on this trip?!

I am soooo jealous of people who live in the US and can freely access bookshops like these.

472 (Small)

Why can’t Aussies have stores like these?!  😦

I know, I know.

We tried it out when Borders came to our shores

(and I was beyond excited when that happened

and spent a LOT of time in our closest Borders,

which wasn’t even all that close)

yet the store quickly went belly-up.

473 (Small)

Seemingly Aussies just don’t buy enough books.

And I’m trying to do my best by buying far more than my personal share of books.

Does that mean that Americans buy an awful lot more books than us per capita?

Why is this?!!

Probably because books are sooooo much cheaper in the US.

They can buy a children’s paperback book for around $7 to $8US, and it costs an Aussie around $20US for the very same book!!!

Moan, moan, moan.

Throwing myself on the ground, pounding the cold hard tiles with my fists!!

474 (Small)

So when we made it inside Barnes and Noble,

we were overwhelmed and didn’t even know where to start.

476 (Small)

They have almost a whole floor for children’s books!!

Their children’s section is twice the size of my local bookstore (the only store for miles!)

477 (Small)

Do you think ‘having access to decent bookstores’

would be reason enough to emigrate to a new country?

I’m feeling it could be.

480 (Small)

Ethan was impressed by the number of computer books they had

– two whole shelves –

and then we walked around the corner and there was a whole wall of computer books!!

479 (Small)

So what did I buy at Barnes and Noble?

Well honestly, very little.

I was completely overwhelmed.

Knowing that I couldn’t take home everything I wanted,

I then couldn’t decide what I did want

and absolutely couldn’t live without.

So this is what I ended up hauling home after two weeks of book shopping in the US.

(If you click on the image you can see a closer view).

Not a very good effort but if given a second chance, I will try harder next time.  🙂

001 (Large)

After an hour in Barnes and Noble

(it was closing and we had other stores we had to get to),

we headed to the Disney store where we did a lot of shopping

for my now TWO little nieces,

Aria and Evie.

Then, as per the boys’ request, we went to M&M World.

482 (Small)

It was three floors of M&Ms of all different sorts

and every sort of M&M merchandise you can image.

Yep, even M&M patterned undies!

483 (Small)

Thankfully, our feet were absolutely killing us,

after a full day of walking (and running),

so everyone agreed pretty quickly on what they wanted to purchase

and we were able to drag ourselves back to our hotel.

Oh and yes, we were roaming the streets of New York at night by ourselves.

And no, we never once felt unsafe.

The streets of New York sure seemed very family friendly to us.

And if you did run into trouble,

there were policemen or a police car on virtually ever street.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 5, 2016 in Family Events, Field Trips, Geography, US Holidays

 

4 responses to “A Night of Shopping

  1. Jen

    March 5, 2016 at 1:57 pm

    The bookstores there are amazing! It is ridiculous the amount we have to pay for exactly the same thing. I would have to hire a shipping container for all the books 😀

     
  2. Sarah

    March 5, 2016 at 11:47 pm

    The clothing “outlets” are also amazing. When we were in the US we bought 2 huge bagfulls of good quality clothes (that you cannot get in Oz) that we are still wearing 6 years later.

     
    • Tracey

      March 6, 2016 at 3:07 am

      My brother bought home two large suitcases full of clothes and household items. When we were in the US, it was the end of season sales so we got items much cheaper than normal. I wasn’t at all interested in clothes but we had to buy two warmer jackets for my boys who were freezing and I got “Columbia” jackets that would have cost me over $100 in Australia for $30. And they were lovely jackets. I also got cute baby onesies for $2 and $3 and some lovely swish baby party outfits for $20ish. Macy’s and Century 21 were our regular shopping haunts. Even the Disney shop was cheap. I bought this giant stuffed Nala (a Lion King character) for under $20 (in Australia they are closer to $60-70) and every day you went in there, there was a different great sale. The day I bought Nala I could buy any other similar product up to the same value for only $5. That created a problem for me as I really didn’t ‘need’ two stuff characters as I’m not a fan of stuffed toys in the first place but apparently my niece is. So our shopping was always great. Hmmm…more reasons to emigrate. 🙂

       
  3. Jen

    March 7, 2016 at 1:28 pm

    If Cruz wins I may have to go! 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
