RSS

Snugglepot and Cuddlepie

11 Jun

Have you ever read “Snugglepot and Cuddlepie”?

Okay, well my overseas readers probably haven’t

but what about my aussie readers?

I hadn’t read it

…until this week.

It just didn’t seem like the kind of book I’d like

and as a kid it just never crossed my path.

001 (Small)

But since we are off to see a performance of it,

we had to pick up the book and read it.

Well, let me tell you…

I loved this story

(and the boys enjoy it too).

It is such a lovely, sweet story.

It’s a not-to-be-missed story.

007 (Small)

Snugglepot and Cuddlepie actually have three adventures

in three separate stories

019 (Small)

but our book has all of them in the same gorgeous volume.

We’ve only read the first story so far

but are eager to dive into the other two.

003 (Small)

If you are planning to read these stories

you need to get hold of a copy that has illustrations.

The story without the illustrations

would lose a huge chunk of its appeal.

005 (Small)

Just look at these darling pictures.

010 (Small)

Even the villains are appealing!

(This is a Banksia Man.)

009 (Small)

At the end of our book version,

there is a section all about May Gibbs,

her life and work.

We’ve already had a flick through

because we couldn’t help ourselves.

020 (Small)

After this book,

I might need to acquire a copy of some of the other Australian classics

that I never read as a child and consequently my boys haven’t read either

– books like “Blinky Bill” and “Dot and the Kangaroo”.

Any recommendations on which to read first?

Are there any others?

Goodness, so many big glaring literature gaps to fill

but what a glorious way to fill the coming years

– reading Australian classics.

🙂

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2016 in Language, My Library

 

8 responses to “Snugglepot and Cuddlepie

  1. Amanda

    June 11, 2016 at 8:41 am

    The Muddle Headed Wombat by Ruth Park is much loved by my littles (and me). I also liked The Magic Pudding when I was small but haven’t gotten back to it for my boys yet; you have inspired me to go looking!

     
    • Tracey

      June 11, 2016 at 10:58 am

      Oooh I have The Magic Pudding on my bookshelf. Completely forgot about it. Hubby’s school was throwing it out and we rescued it. I’ll have to acquire Muddle Headed Wombat.

       
  2. Jen

    June 11, 2016 at 9:55 am

    We just got Blinky Bill, Dot the Kangaroo and Snugglepot and Cuddlepie from Aldi! I had only seen the modern cartoon of Blinky Bill and had never read the others so I am looking forward to reading them aloud. My boys are enjoying Blinky so far.

     
    • Tracey

      June 11, 2016 at 10:59 am

      How long ago was aldi selling them Jen?

       
  3. Jen

    June 12, 2016 at 9:32 am

    It was a couple of weeks ago now. We are in Victoria though so not sure if they have the same things on everywhere. I had no idea they were there until we went to get blankets and I spied books! 😀

     
    • Tracey

      June 12, 2016 at 9:37 am

      I should keep a closer eye on Aldi. I don’t shop there normally and don’t often get the catalogues. Hmmm…I might have to make it a habit to check the catalogues online. I’ve got some good things from them before.

       
  4. Zoe Williams

    June 13, 2016 at 10:04 am

    We recently finished Snugglepot and Cuddlepie too – also in hope of seeing the stage show later in the year. We enjoyed the book and I would love to get your feedback on the stage production after you’ve seen it.

     
    • Tracey

      June 13, 2016 at 10:52 am

      We’re off to see it in July, so there’s not long to wait now.

       

Leave a Reply

 
