RSS

Robinson Crusoe

05 Jul

Have you read “Robinson Crusoe”?

(No, not an abridged version or a Disneyfied version.

They don’t count.

They take out the heart of the story and just leave the flesh.

Something to entertain you, but nothing to inspire you.)

We have just finished reading “Robinson Crusoe”

and have absolutely loved it.

It is such an amazing book.

Yes, it’s a typical classic with long descriptions

about things you could have lived without knowing.

You get used to that as you read more and more of the classics.

But this book isn’t about what I thought it was about.

012 (Small)

I thought it was about a man who was shipwrecked on an island,

…and it was,

but, at the same time, it wasn’t.

Confused?

Probably.

Well, I don’t want to ruin the surprise for you

if you plan to dash out and find a copy,

but suffice it to say that I can see why schools,

especially secular schools,

ditched many of the classics.

This book is mostly about God’s relationship with man.

It’s a story of redemption and deliverance.

Just listen to this,

one of my favourite passages from the book,

Now I began to construe the words mentioned above, “Call on Me, and I will deliver thee,” in a different sense from what I had ever done before; for then I had no notion of anything being called deliverance, but my being delivered from the captivity I was in; for though I was indeed at large in the place, yet the island was certainly a prison to me, and that in the worse sense in the world.  But now I learned to take it in another sense: Now I looked back upon my past life with such horror, and my sins appeared so dreadful, that my soul sought nothing of God but deliverance from the load of guilt that bore down all my comfort.  As for my solitary life, it was nothing.  I did not so much as pray to be delivered from it or think of it; it was all of no consideration in comparison to this.  And I add this part here, to hint to whoever shall read it, that whenever they come to a true sense of things, they will find deliverance from sin a much greater blessing than deliverance from affliction.” (p87)

This is just one of many such passages in Robinson Crusoe.

I was so pleasantly delighted with this book.

017 (Small)

Of course, if you want the story about the survival of a shipwrecked man,

you’ll definitely find that too.

Robinson spends his days building abodes

and furnishing them rather comfortably.

He has plenty of adventures on his island.

And yes, you’ll get to meet his man Friday.

But in reading “Robinson Crusoe”

you’ll also meet God

and see His Hand in your own deliverance story.

And this is why we’ll always remember the reading of “Robinson Crusoe” fondly.

016 (Small)

Now, what I want to know is

how many more of the classics books

are harbouring such treasures.

 

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 5, 2016 in Bible and Faith, My Library

 

6 responses to “Robinson Crusoe

  1. sarah

    July 5, 2016 at 2:29 am

    That definitely sounds different to the one I read! Grrrr

     
    • Tracey

      July 5, 2016 at 7:54 am

      Did you read an abridged version? I’m betting a lot of the God-bits are edited out of abridged versions.

       
  2. cherie

    July 5, 2016 at 2:49 am

    Yes, I too, was pleasantly surprised by this book. We also found the same thing with Swiss Family Robinson – it’s very different and really good for encountering God as well. 🙂

     
    • Tracey

      July 5, 2016 at 7:52 am

      Swiss Family Robinson is on our ‘must read’ list but first we are going to read Treasure Island.

       
  3. Heidi Wilson

    July 17, 2016 at 10:12 am

    All three books mentioned here in the comments are ones I want to read (and want to read aloud to my boys)! How does one make sure they have an unabridged version??

     
    • Tracey

      July 17, 2016 at 11:10 am

      It can be harder than it should be to tell if they are abridged or not. I try to find the same book on Amazon to check the book details. And then when I find a publisher with unabridged books, I tend to stick with them.

       

Leave a Reply

 
