RSS

Another Reason I’m Glad We Homeschool

10 Jan

I popped into Officeworks today.  It was not my best thought out plan.  The little car park was packed with cars cycling around like vultures, following customers to their cars.  I was lucky.  A car pulled out right in front of me and I pulled straight in.

But the chaos didn’t end in the car park.  Inside, there were parents and kids everywhere, purchasing their back to school supplies.  Kids were pulling those large rolling baskets and mothers were piling those baskets full of items listed on their children’s school booklists.  Most of those baskets were overflowing with stuff and they were still adding to the piles.  I wondered how many of those items they already had at home, but that they felt the need to buy new anyway.

I can’t even begin to imagine how much money each family has to spend on back to school supplies.  And Officeworks doesn’t stock textbooks so they’d have to add on that expense too.  Oh and there’s uniforms too.  If the kids have grown, or are starting new schools, they’ll need uniforms as well.  All this before they even pay for school fees (if there are school fees to be paid).

I was also in Officeworks for back to school supplies.  However, my homeschool booklist is whatever I decide and I don’t need to buy the whole year’s supplies at once.

This was my homeschool ‘back to school’ list:

*one spiral grid book for Math for each child – cost $3.75 each

*one 2mm graph pad for Math for each child – cost $2.45 each

*some new lead pencils (there’s seemingly a beaver at my house and our chewed up lead pencil supply annoys me, so I’m restocking it) – cost $6.50 (for a box of 12)

I left Officeworks only $18.90 poorer, which means there’s more money in the budget for the most important back to school items – BOOKS!!! Real books!

But let’s not look at the expense of the real books being purchased.  My husband reads this blog!

Hubby dearest, textbooks are much more expensive.  And we neeeeeed all those books that are currently turning up at our door.  Not sure if it works out cheaper than school fees though.  Possibly. Possibly not.  Oh well.

😉

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 10, 2017 in Homeschooling Thoughts

 

4 responses to “Another Reason I’m Glad We Homeschool

  1. Sarah Schreffler

    January 10, 2017 at 12:54 pm

    Here in the US, back to school time is the best time to stock up on supplies for the year (including supplies needed at home). Because the stores have sales and the prices are much bettter. It is also the time when I buy bunches of school supplies to pack in Operation Christmas Child boxes and in backpacks our church packs for kids that cannot afford to buy their own supplies. I also try to purchase for the middle of the year when teachers inevitably run out and need more tissues or copy paper.

     
  2. Jen in Qld

    January 11, 2017 at 1:18 pm

    Tracey’s hubby,

    Are you letting her go to the Lifeline book sale? You do know that will be more dangerous to your budget than Officeworks any day, don’t you? 😊

    Best wishes
    Jen in Qld

     
    • Tracey

      January 11, 2017 at 1:28 pm

      Hubby knows not to stand between Wife-y and her books. :)-

       
      • Jen in Qld

        January 14, 2017 at 1:14 pm

        Good man!

         

Leave a Reply

 
