RSS

My Week in Bullet Points

18 Mar

* This week was a week of birthdays – my birthday and my niece’s birthday.  We gave my niece Lego and, of course, books.

007 (Small)

My niece gave me a handcrafted piece of art that has taken pride of place on my bookshelves.

017 (Small)

* We finished a couple of school books this week.  “The Great South Land” was a fantastic read.  If you are looking for a book about the men who visited Australia before Cook, then this is your book!  It’s intended for adults (but there’s nothing inappropriate in it) and it reads aloud really well.

001 (Small)

We also finished “Zoom”, a book on motion.  We said, “Wow!” so many times in this book.  We also said, “Huh?” quite a number of times.

009 (Small)

* Some books arrived in the mail this week.  (Admittedly, our parcel postie arrives most weeks 🙂 ).  This week we got books about Greece.  We’re reading the Iliad so I thought it was a good time to explore some Greek tangents.

010 (Small)

I also got a book gift from a friend.  I’ve drooled over this book for a long while, even since this friend highly recommended it as their favourite children’s version of ‘Cinderella’.

007 (Small)

The illustrations are gorgeous!

006 (Small)

* Currently I’m (trying to) read “The Bear and the Nightingale”.  At this point I’m not sure if I’ll make it to the end, although I’m so close to the end that I think I’ll have to make myself continue.  I really liked the sounds of this book, after reading the blurb and review, but it has turned out to be something completely different from what I was expecting – it’s much darker.  If I had to name a theme for this book, it would be fear – fear to leave the old beliefs (traditional nature centre beliefs) and fear of not accepting the new beliefs (Russian Orthodox).  Not a book to read at night before bed!

013 (Small)

* Thankfully I can pick a different book to read before bed time.  I picked up this bundle of goodies from the library this week.  Decisions, decisions.  What will I start with?  And how will I finish all of these before they are due back at the library!

012 (Small)

* We’ve been doing some viewing too.  We watched “Hacksaw Ridge” and it was excellent.  It’s not for those with a weak stomach though.  The gory battle scenes are among the worst I’ve seen, but we had to watch it as it was a true story of great faith.  We also finished watching the 6 episodes of, “Civilisation:  Is the West History?”.  And tonight we’ll watch “Gagarin:  First in Space”.

015 (Small)

* We also had book club this week.  We LOVE book club.  We (the mums, obviously) are currently reading “Life Under Compulsion” by Anthony Esolen (everything he writes is wonderful!).

011 (Small)

While the mum’s chat about the book, the kidlings run wild in our beloved bush setting.  This week, the kids had to seek shelter during a quick but heavy downpour so they sat and played a round of Uno.  After the rain, they went out and played in the mud and had a blast.

003 (Small)

Who knows what next week will hold?  Definitely more books!

🙂

 

 
 

2 responses to “My Week in Bullet Points

  1. Alexis

    March 18, 2017 at 9:50 am

    Haha we were nearly washed away! The small ones didn’t care though, just kept moving so they didn’t get wet. And oh the mud! Thanks for getting them to rinse off under the tap before getting into the car 🙂

     
    • Tracey

      March 18, 2017 at 11:54 am

      Even after washing off the mud, mine still came home with mud all up their legs. They washed their feet and forgot that their feet are attached to legs!

       

Leave a Reply

 
