RSS

Books, Books and More Books

08 Oct

The new term has started and new terms always mean new books.

This is what we’ve been reading aloud this week:

The Arrival; Masada; Tesla vs Edison; Beginner’s Guide to Electricity and Magnetism; Heart of Darkness; David Livingstone; The Ship to Nowhere; and How to Be Your Own Selfish Pig. 

There’s nothing better than starting a new read aloud,

except maybe finishing a new read aloud

because that means you get to start another new read aloud.

012 (Small)

“The Arrival” is an ‘interesting’ book to read aloud.

It has absolutely no words in it.

But, it’s very cleverly done and you can ‘kind of’ read it aloud.

013 (Small)

We did it by taking turns ‘telling’ the story.

It wasn’t as easy as you might think.

012 (Small)

This wordless book isn’t meant for younger readers.

The ‘reader’ needs some background knowledge about immigration.

011 (Small)

If you ever get a chance, borrow this book from the library, and have a look.

I was pleasantly surprised by the experience of ‘reading’ it.

010 (Small)

I picked it up because we are off to see a theatre production of the story

but it’d be a great book for studying refugees and immigration.

015 (Small)

Books also turned up in the mail this week.

002 (Small)

We’re exploring Israel, past and present, this term

so “Understanding the Holy Land” arrived.

I just hope it has a more balanced view than what we hear in the media.

003 (Small)

I also got a copy of my friend’s book, an adaptation of “The Faerie Queene”.

006 (Small)

I also got this book:  “Stealing From a Child”.

005 (Small)

I’ve already heard a lot of what the book has to say

but I wanted to buy the book anyway.

To support the cause.

007 (Small)

This past week, I also received a parcel from Living Books Press.

Isn’t it beautiful?!!  All bound up in brown paper and twine,

002 (Small)

complete with a wax seal.

How often do you receive beautiful books in a beautiful parcel.

This parcel was the first parcel I didn’t tear open in a hurry.

I actually left it unopened and took it with me to a friend’s house to show it to her.

004 (Small)

This is what was inside:  beautiful books to match beautiful wrappings.

Living Books Press is bringing old books back to print and I’m so excited.

There are a number of books that I’d love to read, but either can’t find or can’t afford the hefty price tags.

Living Books Press is going to change that.

The first book I ordered was “The Aussie Crusaders”.

I hadn’t actually intended to buy this book, but when I read the blurb and the sample,

I was hooked.

It also helped that it fit in with our Israelie focus this term.

014 (Small)

The books I’d planned to buy are these:  Richard Halliburton’s Book of Marvels.

A while ago, I read their sample pages and loved them.

I didn’t ‘need’ these books.  They don’t really fit with what we are studying at present.

But, I’ve thought about these books so often since then that I simply had to buy them.

They are brilliant!!  I can’t wait to read more.

There’s always space on the read aloud pile for another book!!

013 (Small)

Oh and here’s a little tidbit for you.

Did you know that the word orient comes from the Latin word ‘orientis’ which means east?

And, hence the word occident means west because it comes from the Latin word ‘occidens’.

Gosh!  We’re already learning things from these books and we haven’t even opened them yet!!!

Ah, books.  How can you not love them?!  🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2017 in My Library

 

2 responses to “Books, Books and More Books

  1. Jen

    October 8, 2017 at 5:51 am

    That wrapping is gorgeous!

     
    • Tracey

      October 8, 2017 at 6:07 am

      It’s almost worth buying something just for the wrapping!

       

Leave a Reply

 
