RSS

Liking Homeschooling

25 Nov

Happiness is a choice I believe.

If you desire to be happy about homeschooling, look for the reason you believe homeschooling is the best thing or something that warms your heart about homeschooling.  Don’t allow the negative or the tough to weighh in on the decision.

As parents there are lots of things that we could do without in the parenting realm – temper tantrums, attitudes, changing nappies, midnight feeds, sibling rivalry, messy rooms and on and on and sometimes on again – but these things don’t get a say when we are deciding if we love and are happy with being a parent.  The warm fuzzies rule when we think about whether we love parenting or not.

It can be the same way with homeschooling.  Don’t decide whether you love it or not on the days when the kids leave their brains in bed, when you wonder if the kids have brains at all, or when you have to start the day by dragging the kids, frothing at the mouth, out from under the bed or table.  Look for the moments – they don’t necessarily happen every day or even every week – when you think to yourself, “Gee Whizz this is nice”, like when you catch the kids actually smiling as you read to them, or you see the ‘ah-ha’ moment on a child’s face as you teach them something, or you look at your teenager reading and think to yourself, “I taught him how to do that”.  Those, not so often moments, counts for more than all the drudgery.

If you look at the work, the pain, the frustrations, the mess, the years still to wade through, who wouldn’t give up and send them packing.  In fact we’d question ever being parents at all.

But think of the gold miners of old.  They worked day after day, doing back breaking work, digging, and panning and hauling dirt, in the hope of finding a few specs of gold dust.  It’s no different for homeschooling.  We work hard, day after day, for the benefit of our family, but often feeling discouraged and just bone tired at the end of the day.  But we keep going because our thoughts are on those rare golden moments.  That’s why we’re doing this – because there are riches hidden in our work.

We can’t avoid the work if we are in this for the treasure.  We have to be consistent and put in the work.  There are many avoidance strategies we can employ but they only make us feel better because they are putting off the discomfort.  If the work has to be done, then we just have to do it.  Don’t stop to give thought to the struggles of the day ahead.  Just jump in and start digging.  The sooner we get to the work, the less energy we waste in procrastination and the closer and greater the rewards become.

At least that’s how I look at it.  🙂

 

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 25, 2013 in Homeschooling Thoughts

 

8 responses to “Liking Homeschooling

  1. petra1304

    November 26, 2013 at 3:13 am

    I agree. Except I don’t mind avoiding housework. Or painting! Or organising dinner! 😀

     
    • Tracey

      November 26, 2013 at 10:41 am

      I’m an expert at avoiding ironing. My ironing pile is my witness. 🙂

       
  2. shelley

    November 26, 2013 at 4:00 am

    I remember getting an award at work & the plaque I received was entitled “Attitude is Everything”. I was apparently know as a “glass half full” girl – I know I am not that positive all the ime, but that is what my employers & clients saw and they appreciate it, so that was what mattered at that time 🙂

     
    • Tracey

      November 26, 2013 at 10:50 am

      I’m a glass half full gal too. The alternative is a scary.

      Best to look up to the sky, than down at the mud, I reckon. 🙂

       
  3. Jane Newman

    November 26, 2013 at 9:56 am

    So true Tracey!

    I must say though the home schooling bit of my life is THE most rewarding! I am still up to my ears in nappies and tantrums!

    I love that my 8 year old is writing so confidently and easily with 6 months! Joy joy joy!

    Homeschool is awesome except it can be lonely when others judge you with their deliberate silence. If someone else had started a new job I am sure they would ask how it is going. The silence and lack of interest makes me so hurt and angry, but then I realize I have 4 more years with Tom by my side IF we choose to send him to normal high school … How cool is that! Love having my kids all day every day – even when it gets tough!

     
    • Tracey

      November 26, 2013 at 10:58 am

      Me too Jane. I LOVE homeschooling. I don’t love all the moments every day but I love that we homeschool and I feel bad for kids at school and that their parents are missing out on their childhood.

      It’s so important to have homeschooling friends Jane. So few of our ‘real’ world friends want to know anything about homeschooling. Maybe it’s because they might start feeling guilty about their own choices.

      I actually think it’s a good thing to have our kids close when things are tough. We can’t avoid each other so things are sorted out faster. 🙂

       
  4. Katie

    November 29, 2013 at 1:33 am

    Thank you so much, Tracey, for taking valuable time to provide this blog as an encouragement and resource.

    My favourite part of homeschooling is spending so much time with my kids and allowing them to spend time with each other. We tried the school option – at a great school too – but it was just so much box ticking and time wasting that it wasn’t a good trade for 30+ hours of my kids lives each week.

    I have a few non-homeschool friends and family who ask “how’s the homeschooling going?” but I find it really hard to answer because if I properly explained the truth of how much I prefer having my kids around me, learning at their own level, having time to read and learn for enjoyment but with the flexibility to visit family and go on a million excursions – well, I just don’t know if there is enough “but school is a good choice too” to make up for that. So, I just say “yeah, its going well, thanks”. 🙂

     
    • Tracey

      November 29, 2013 at 2:04 am

      Non-homeschool friends are tricky to deal with. If you talk about homeschooling too much with them they seem to feel as though they have to balance the scales and defend school or justify why they choose school. It doesn’t even have to be your motive for the conversation. It’s just what happens most of the time. But if you share a tough homeschooling moment, then your non-homeschool friends instantly remind you that there is the school option. So most of the time I give the same answer as you, “yeah, it’s going well” and then spend my time asking them all about how their child is going at school. Playing up my excitement a little to reassure them that I am genuinely interested in their choice, even though I’d never choose it for my own. Sometimes, when I’ve purposefully tipped the scales their way, they’ll feel comfortable enough to tip toe briefly over to my side and make little positive comments about homeschooling.

      It’s funny though. If school is so good, why do they need to defend it with such ferocity. And why do they feel so vulnerable around homeschoolers. Curious. 🙂

       

Leave a comment